No startup, no bios, nothing. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-07-2006, 12:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Cubicle Bunker
Posts: 109
Default No startup, no bios, nothing.

I've built many a system before, and now I've come across a problem...

upgrading a PC for a friend, new ECS 648FX-A2 MB, skt 478, 3.0GHz HT CPU, and 1GB crucial ram...kept the old IDE HD, 40gb, and 300w power supply + dvd rom

Now, I used the old processor (1.7 celeron) to do the xp install, because I wasn't sure if the firmware for this MB was compatiable with HT (it ended up being compatible, but i proceeded with teh install under a celeron)

XP installed, great, i turn the pc off, install the new cpu/fan/heatsink, now nothing. Computer will power on, but hard drive light stays on constantly like the power light, no response, no bios on screen, monitor light just flashes like it has no signal...

where to look first? yes, i'm using the previous agp card, its a 64mb no-namer...hmmmmph. I tried putting the old CPU back in, still no luck...anyone?
__________________

__________________
Dell Precision 670 (3.4GHz DP Xeon, 4GB DDR2, XPSP3)
Dell D800 (1.8GHz, 1GB, XPSP3)

I work with computers, I play FFXI.
vagnozzi is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 01:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 200
Default

Hi vagnozzi,

Sounds to me almost as if the BIOS hasnt coped with the CPU change. Have you tried flashing CMOS? (take out power from back of computer, remove CMOS battery, put your finger on the two contacts where the battery normally sits and hold it there for about 5 seconds, then put battery back and reboot)

IF that fails, you sure you remembered to plug the CPU fan in?, made sure mobo power connector is plugged in all the way?
__________________

imation is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 05:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

:amazed: Use a screw driver or a jumper, good greif don't use your finger. I'd start by putting the old cpu back on if it boots up, then its one of 2 problems either the new cpu is dead or your bios doesn't recognize the new cpu, and needs to be flashed with an update. Well its most likly one of those problems
Sui is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 05:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

always be sure to use a thermal compound like AS5 between the heatsink and cpu. like previously suggested i think resetting the CMOS may fix it.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 07:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Cubicle Bunker
Posts: 109
Default

Ok, I will try removing the battery....yes I have thermal compound b/t cpu and heatsink.....hmmmm....I'll keep you updated, thank you!
__________________
Dell Precision 670 (3.4GHz DP Xeon, 4GB DDR2, XPSP3)
Dell D800 (1.8GHz, 1GB, XPSP3)

I work with computers, I play FFXI.
vagnozzi is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 08:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Cubicle Bunker
Posts: 109
Default

Nope, that did not help....

Anyone else have an idea? What could have gone wrong? Why does the HDD LED stay on all the time? Bad Power supply?
__________________
Dell Precision 670 (3.4GHz DP Xeon, 4GB DDR2, XPSP3)
Dell D800 (1.8GHz, 1GB, XPSP3)

I work with computers, I play FFXI.
vagnozzi is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 09:08 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 200
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sui
:amazed: Use a screw driver or a jumper, good greif don't use your finger. I'd start by putting the old cpu back on if it boots up, then its one of 2 problems either the new cpu is dead or your bios doesn't recognize the new cpu, and needs to be flashed with an update. Well its most likly one of those problems
Done it for years with no problems.

Sometimes the hdd light stays on if you've got the hdd LED header the wrong way round, but it wouldnt cause the computer not to boot.

Have you tried without the harddrive plugged in? Tried reseating the video card. If it has onboard vga, tried w/o vid card? If you havnt already, also try unplugging the ~edit~powersupply (sorry drunk)~edit~ completely leaving for 10 seconds and plug everything back in.

Let us know how you get on!
imation is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 09:28 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

normally a hdd light staying on means 1 of 3 things
1. hdd is plugged in incorrectly (impossible in the case of SATA drives)
2. hdd is faulty
3. the pc freezes during post due to another hardware error
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 12:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

When resetting the CMOS try leaving the battery out for like 10-20 minutes.
Check that the mobo isn't shorting out on the case.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 04:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

The system won't boot with the old 1.7 celeron?
__________________

Sui is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.