No Sounds Working - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-27-2005, 12:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 456
Default No Sounds Working

Ok.. I just logged onto my computer this morning and the sounds and everything were working.. Then i went to a website to watch a movie and realized the sound didnt work.. I check the sound profile and it said the sound device wasnt installed and i tried reinstalling the device and that didnt do n e thing.. PLZ HELP!!!
__________________

cyclones is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 01:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 85
Send a message via AIM to MikeyE
Default

So were you able to successfully reinstall the device? I realize it still doen't work but does Device Manager show it to be functioning properly after reinstalling the driver?
__________________

__________________
A+ Hardware/OS whoop dee doo
MikeyE is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 04:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 128
Default

1st find out if you have an onboard audio drive or a sound card installed on your computer.
2nd find out what manufacturer made your audio driver
3rd go online and find look up the manufacturers website and they should have driver downloads for your sound device.

if you can't find out what kind of audio driver you have then you can find out with "aida32" just simply download it off the internet, this will help you determine all the hardware on your computer including your audio driver
hard_assteel is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 07:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 456
Default

Yes.. I did reinstall the drive and it give's me an error that it cannot function properley.. Ok.. I will check out my manu site!
cyclones is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 07:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 456
Default RE:

How do i find out my version and and stuff of my sound card?
cyclones is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 07:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

you can find out what sound card you have in device manager
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-27-2005, 07:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 456
Default RE:

it said what version i had, but like a spec. model # i need for the driver download?
cyclones is offline  
Old 08-28-2005, 04:17 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 128
Default

all you have to do is download this... http://www.majorgeeks.com/download181.html this is a program that shows the specifics about what kind of hardware you have including your sound drive
__________________

hard_assteel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.