No sound whatsoever after swapping cases. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2008, 01:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
homeslicezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Missouri
Posts: 53
Default No sound whatsoever after swapping cases.

Today I bought a new Logisys case and swapped out all the insides from my old case. I turn it on, and everything works right off the bat except for the sound. I have no idea how the case could've caused this.

Some details:
Absolutely NO sound.
Onboard Realtec ac97 sound card
Audio was working perfect before case swap.
I also changed the power supply, because the case came with a 480wt, and i previously had a 430wt.

Some computer specs (if needed for some reason):
AMD athlon X2 4200+
2gb RAM
Geforce 8600GTS
ECS motherboard (forgot model)


Help please!
__________________

homeslicezero is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 01:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: No sound whatsoever after swapping cases.

Check the BIOS.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 01:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
homeslicezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Missouri
Posts: 53
Default Re: No sound whatsoever after swapping cases.

I've checked it and returned everything to default and such, no luck.
I'm not sure if these problems could be linked or not, but i've also been having a problem on OS startup, it seems like explorer.exe stalls for about 15 seconds before it loads the startup tasks. it shows the hourglass when i hover over the taskbar.

But this problem has been going on since before i swapped cases, so i don't think it's related.
homeslicezero is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 01:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: No sound whatsoever after swapping cases.

Have you tried updating drivers for your audio?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 01:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
homeslicezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Missouri
Posts: 53
Default Re: No sound whatsoever after swapping cases.

Yes, that didn't work either.
homeslicezero is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 01:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: No sound whatsoever after swapping cases.

Have you checked to see if your Windows detect the software/sound in Control Panel or My Computer?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 01:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
homeslicezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Missouri
Posts: 53
Default Re: No sound whatsoever after swapping cases.

Yes, if you mean device manager. Says all devices are working properly :P
homeslicezero is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 01:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: No sound whatsoever after swapping cases.

Wrong sound slot?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 01:41 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
homeslicezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Missouri
Posts: 53
Default Re: No sound whatsoever after swapping cases.

Nope. I've tried my headphones and my speakers, in all three slots (line in, line out, mic) nothing worked.
homeslicezero is offline  
Old 01-13-2008, 01:43 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: No sound whatsoever after swapping cases.

Could it be the speakers? Try plugging speakers into something?
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hotrodding the X-Fi Apokalipse Overclocking and Modding 9 08-13-2007 11:39 AM
Sound card vs. Integrated sound on p35-ds3r MOBO OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 8 07-16-2007 01:32 PM
Did my sound card die on me?? :( Nuggets Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 06-13-2007 12:17 PM
Sound Card Issues!! Nuggets Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 06-12-2007 09:40 PM
Mysterious Sound Problem PartySized Computer Audio and Multimedia 4 04-13-2007 04:55 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.