no sound hardware? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-14-2005, 05:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Default no sound hardware?

I recently had to have my hard drive wiped due to the amount of viruses infecting my system. I now do not have any sound and keep getting a message saying i have no hardware installed. I have on board sound. Motherboard is K7S5A. My Bro-in-law emailed me the drivers but somehow there is no install icon. I dont want to keep bothering my bro-in-law about this and dont know what to do. I have looked on the net for drivers but the list of sites keep mentioning BIOS. I am unsure about the ins and ouits of this and was wondering if anyone knows where i could look to download the driver for my sound so i can listen to my music. Please help as i am becoming more frustrated by the minute!

Chris
__________________

Chrisy is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 05:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Go into your DM and check for :
A: any error Icons.
B: Sound/Video/Game Controllers. ( Update the drivers within this section of the DM )
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 05:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Default

I am doing that now but its seems to be taking ages. I think its looking on the net for drivers. Why hasnt it asked mt to type in the number of the motherboard?
Chrisy is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 05:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

It most likely is searching the web for drivers... That is a good thing. Hopefully you will be able to install all of these drivers this way. You shouldn't need to enter in the number for the motherboard.

did you see any error Icons before the driver search ?
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 05:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Default

I got an error message after the error search. Says C-media AC97 audio device cannot start (code 10) ? Dont know what all this means. Have tried uninstalling hardware and reinstalling new device but not geting anywhere. I used to like computers but now starting to hate them!!!! All i want is to listen to music etc!!!!
Chris
Chrisy is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 06:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Have you poked around in the BIOS for sound options ?
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 06:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Default

I dont know enough about the bios. It scares me!
Chrisy is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 06:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

lol... Do you happen to have a MOBO manual there ?
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 06:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Default

Fraid not! Would you know why my system would be starting to slow down specially when i'm typing?
Chrisy is offline  
Old 11-14-2005, 06:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

can you explain it a little more ?

Does is skip around ?
Does it just seem slower than normal ?
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.