no signal through 9800 pro! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-11-2005, 12:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 11
Angry no signal through 9800 pro!

I have a pc: msi motherboard, 1.5GB RAM, amd xp 2800+, sapphire radeon 9800 pro, 18" TFT monitor.

The problem is that whenever I start my pc up now my monitor searches for a signal and does not find one, it used to work fine. Im not sure if its my motherboard that is causing the problem. Its not the graphics card or monitor as it works in other pcs.

Please help. Thanks

lucas20042004 is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 09:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 424

Lol, easy things first... Is the monitor cable hooked up to your graphics card not the onboard connection? I did that ounce..

raiden_nrl is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 09:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,953

Check you cable's connection at each end as well.

Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 09:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 19

make sure the 12v molex plug is plugged into the video card.
GothicPIMP is offline  
Old 09-12-2005, 03:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 65
Send a message via AIM to uber Send a message via Yahoo to uber

Check the connections in the rear. I have a radeon 9800 pro sapphire 128 and an MSI PT880 Neo-Fsb and the card runs fine, which is alot more then I can say for the system in general. Is it plugged into the power supply? That might be a problem if it isnt. There should be a little opaque white colored outlet on the right corner that is facing you when its in the PC. If it isnt plugged in, find a stray 4 pin power connector and plug it in. Its obvious which plug it uses, the one with four holes in it.
uber is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.