No signal to monitor, self built - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-09-2008, 05:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Default No signal to monitor, self built

Hey everyone, I just built my first computer. Everything turns on (system fans, LED lights, POST beep). However, I cannot get a signal to the monitor.

The lights on the motherboard (system LED's) turn on when computer starts, I have four lights 1:Green, 2:Green, 3:Yellow, 4:Red, but then after a bit they turn off, but all other lights stay on and fans stay on. I don't know if that's important information, but was listing it just in case.

For my graphics card, at first four red lights would come on; however, that was before I had the 4-pin ATX power plugged in and was not getting a beep. Now that I am getting a beep the lights do not come on. But the fan on the card runs.

So the main problem is, I do not get a signal to the monitor. I am using a digital plug that plugs into my graphics card, I have tried both outlets neither get signal.


MoBO: Gigabyte S-series GA-EP35-DS3L
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo
RAM: DDRII 1066 (2 sticks) totalling 4Gigs. Dual Channel Kit
Graphics Card: ATI HD 4870x2
Power Supply: Corsair TX750W
HD: Western Digital 1TB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s
Monitor: SAMSUNG 2253BW Black 22" 2ms(GTG) DVI Widescreen LCD Monitor

Any help on this matter is greatly appreciated!

fantasypisces is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 07:41 PM   #2 (permalink)

Baez's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,985
Default Re: No signal to monitor, self built

If you're getting the POST beep then it shouldn't have anything to do with the computer. Have you tried another monitor?


Baez is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 10:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: detroit, mi
Posts: 81
Default Re: No signal to monitor, self built

dont forget to plug in the power to the actual video cards and check to see if they are plugged in all the way
kagekitsune is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Increase Wireless Signal Strength ??? Katmandu Laptops and Notebooks 5 05-29-2008 12:56 PM
Weak Signal Strength soma104 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 02-02-2008 11:16 AM
Built in microphone-I can't find it dannyual767 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 01-26-2008 12:58 PM
Soyo Dragon loses video signal Ltat42a Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 08-25-2007 02:55 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.