No Signal from monitor building new PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-23-2007, 02:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1
Default No Signal from monitor building new PC

I built my new PC and when I turn it on I get no signal to the monitor. Hooked up to my GeForce 8600GTS (DVI) using D-SUB to DVI converter. My Mobo does not have onboard video. Tried both converters in both ports on the video card. My monitor has no DVI input, only D-SUB so skipping the converter is not an option. Unfortunately I do not have a lot of parts to test with. There is no OS on the HD. I'm 100% sure my monitor is working, I was using it 2 hours ago on my old computer.

What can I do to fix this? Is the converter causing an issue? Does BIOs not recognize my videocard?

IrvineKinneas509 is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 03:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,056
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: No Signal from monitor building new PC

are you 100% sure your graphics card is working? If you have a spare monitor, try plugging it into your newer pc.

"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 08:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default Re: No Signal from monitor building new PC

Does your motherboard beep once at POST? If it's beeping more than once, or not beeping at all, there may be a bigger problem, such as RAM or CPU issues.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 06-23-2007, 11:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: No Signal from monitor building new PC

POST troubleshooting steps.
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No signal! Sengbasy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 12 06-24-2007 04:45 PM
Wireless adapter receive signal rbmcfarlane Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 05-23-2007 12:03 PM
monitor with no signal? mcarr Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-14-2007 09:39 PM
no signal for laptop will h4x 4 food Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 04-10-2007 09:34 PM
Signal Over Range? Very Weird Trick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 03-31-2007 12:32 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.