no signal to monitor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2008, 08:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 113
Default no signal to monitor

hi guys, i built my self a pc about 2 years ago and had no problems what so ever, i have been decorating the room so unplugged all my pc, upon reconnection everything i am getting no signal to my monitor and getting an audio warning from the motherboard

the audio is a 1 second beep followed by 2 short beeps. (beeeeeeep beep beep)

the motherboard is an asus m2n32 ws professional, the graphics card is a geforce 7900 gtx, and the hard disk is a western digital.

the last time i hooked my pc up it was to the tv as the monitor and all was fine. whe i switch on all the fans kick in the green l.e.d is lit up on the mother board the fan on the graphics card works everything seems to have power but i really dont know what it is?

thanks for your help in advance.
__________________

06Skywalker is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 10:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: no signal to monitor

Did you try a different gpu?
__________________

jfenwick is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 10:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 113
Default Re: no signal to monitor

sorry what is gpu? i tried it on my telly and still nothing the pc constantly goes beeeep beep beep over and over?!

if its graphics card then no i havnt because i dont have a spare, the fan works on the card.
06Skywalker is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 02:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: no signal to monitor

Hello,

GPU is the Graphics Processor Unit or the GFX Card. I would check to make sure that the card and everythign are "seated" or in their slots fully. Sometimes moving a PC can jar them loose.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 02:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: /home/jason
Posts: 3,056
Send a message via AIM to Jayce
Default Re: no signal to monitor

Following up with Mak's advice, also check the power going to the graphics card. I don't know how many times I accidentally bumped the power connector from the PSU and sat there confused as to what happened to my computer. Turns out, I just needed to plug power in.

So check that out, along with how the card is seating and everything else. Sometimes it's the simplest thing.
Jayce is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 03:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: no signal to monitor

sorry about that, should have been more clear....

Also, double check you have all the power connections in, I know i've forgotten the PCI-e or the secondary 4-pin power connection on occasion.

Do you have a friend who can lend you their card for a quick check? If not you can always buy a cheapo from a local big box store that has a no questions asked return policy and check it that way.
jfenwick is offline  
Old 07-02-2008, 11:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 113
Default Re: no signal to monitor

hi guys i havnt been able to check my graphics card in another pc but i have taken it out of the motherboard and the pc with no card in still makes that same sound, i will have to find someone who can lend me a card or try myn in there pc, wil let you know how i get on, i have double and triple checked all power ect and all seems fine.
06Skywalker is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 04:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 113
Default Re: no signal to monitor

i seem to have found the problem, if i remove one of my corsair xms 2 dual 1gb memory sticks the pc fires up fine, if i put this stick in the motherboard on its own it doesnt fire up again, would you say this memory is dead? i have emailed crsair to see what they think, they offer lifetime warrenty so hopefully will be able to claim, if not i found 2gb for 35 so not too bad
06Skywalker is offline  
Old 09-13-2008, 11:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: no signal to monitor

...that's weird. I just kinda posted the same thing almost and now that I think about it when I installed my corsair stick is when my problems started... I think.


Edit: Confirmed. ALthough I do not have the beeps you have I just took my stick out and it fired right up. I shall have to write them an emial as well.
__________________

xstrangenotesx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No boot power turns on but no signal in monitor ekw808 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 03-05-2008 12:01 PM
Monitor not picking up any signal??? AzN Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-15-2007 04:09 AM
Turning Monitor off, but no signal when turned on. canadian37 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 07-20-2007 12:50 PM
Monitor Not Receiving Signal >.< Icydeath Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 07-18-2007 12:09 AM
No Signal from monitor building new PC IrvineKinneas509 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-23-2007 12:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.