No Signal Detected - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2010, 01:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Default No Signal Detected

Hey gang, I'm at my wits end so hopefully someone has a better idea. I'm at the point now where I think I may need to just start replacing parts.

So here's the deal:
Fairly new desktop (about a year old now) and it'll be running fine then I come back to find the computer is locked up. I have to manually restart it, to which I get 'No Signal Detected' on the monitor. Eventually I may get lucky and it comes up for a day or so before same thing happens.

What I'm working with:

Asus M3N mb (at work so I don't have the exact model)
AMD Quad core 3ghz processor
4G Corsair DDR3
(2) GeForce 8800 GT SLI
600w modular power supply
It's got CPU fan, RAM fan, rear fan, side fan, and fans on both vid cards so heat has never been an issue.

What I've tried:

Removed all components, cleaned them, reseated them.
Verified power to the board and all fans
Tried switching RAM slots, also tested each one individually
Verified HDD is spinning up and ran system disk check
Tried using each vid card individually and in each of the PCIe slots
Reset factory defaults in BIOS
Reset Cmos
Updated graphics drivers
Current on all windows updates
no spyware/malware
replaced motherboard with same

For about a month or so I would fiddle with various parts, reseating and what-not and eventually it would come up, but I of course had no real inkling as to why it suddenly felt like working, then day or later same thing all over again. It's off now and I haven't been able to get it back up at all. The only time I ever got beeps of any kind were when I had forgotten to plug a power cord back into one of the video cards.

I'm wondering if there's any real way to find out exactly what is causing the issue. At this point I'm figuring I'd start with replacing the power supply and go from there.

Thoughts?
__________________

woolychaser is offline  
Old 12-14-2010, 01:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: No Signal Detected

Yha, the power supply sounds suspect. If you can get ahold of a digital multimeter, you can test your psu.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 12-14-2010, 02:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: No Signal Detected

Should 600w be sufficient to run what I've got in there or should I try for a higher wattage?
woolychaser is offline  
Old 12-14-2010, 03:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: No Signal Detected

It should be, but you would want a decent quality brand. I run 2 260s on a 700W, and have max drawn only 520Ws.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Signal Detected (On Monitor) SilverKiento Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 08-22-2009 11:53 PM
How much can a wireless DSL signal go through and still have a good signal? Org Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 08-20-2009 09:53 PM
No Signal Detected Natalie105 System Upgrades 21 05-07-2009 11:10 PM
Two problems. No signal detected + HDD issues. Jayce Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 38 03-08-2006 09:38 PM
no signal detected benzimm86 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 07-06-2005 11:41 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.