No signal? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2008, 12:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 70
Default No signal?

I have an e machine with XP. When I start it, all I get is no signal on the monitor.


Cpu fan goes on, however I do not hear the hard drive make any noise. Not sure how to pin point why it does not start
__________________

__________________
The Tec never ends
slimcan is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 01:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: No signal?

Did you do any updates? Did you isntall any new software? Did you make any changes to the system before this happened?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 04:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 70
Default Re: No signal?

No new software, I did install a new start button.
__________________
The Tec never ends
slimcan is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 09:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: No signal?

Like a new start button for Windows or a new power button for the PC?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 09:57 PM   #5 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: No signal?

Do you mean nothing shows on the monitor as soon as you press the power button or only when it starts loading Windows?
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 10:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 70
Default Re: No signal?

when I press start, I only get to see no signal for about a secound and then it shows only a black screen
__________________
The Tec never ends
slimcan is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 10:16 PM   #7 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: No signal?

Alright and what about Mak's question? Did you install a new power button?
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 10:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 70
Default Re: No signal?

The start button I replaced was from Radio shack. It is just a mometary button. It worked fine for a week.
__________________
The Tec never ends
slimcan is offline  
Old 10-22-2008, 12:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 70
Default Re: No signal?

It started after i removed the battery and put it back in. Since the hard drive is the only moving part, is it safe to say the drive is going bad?

Is it safe to say a when a processor , mother board, or ram go bad they never work again. But a drive can freeze up making a computer work then unfreeze itself some how , which gives me this trouble of starting only sometimes
__________________
The Tec never ends
slimcan is offline  
Old 10-22-2008, 01:06 PM   #10 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: No signal?

No it could be anything. An unstable processor, RAM or unsafe voltages can all cause intermittent instability.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer Runs, but no signal from monitor Tinsil Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 09-27-2008 02:40 PM
No signal to monitor, self built fantasypisces Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-09-2008 11:43 PM
How to Increase Wireless Signal Strength ??? Katmandu Laptops and Notebooks 5 05-29-2008 01:56 PM
Turning Monitor off, but no signal when turned on. canadian37 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 07-20-2007 12:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.