no screen but... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-11-2006, 09:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default no screen but...

so i got a new mobo and cpu and ram

the cpu i got is a pentium d 805
mobo
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813135225

ram1 gig 2x 512 pc5300
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820221038

i never bough from newegg i got from friend but he had jus took it out of hjis system and works fine.

what happoen was i got it all built and setup first problme i had was getting it to turn on then i waited like 20 mins and tryed again it turned on. then i do not hear bios beeps or anything and no video is showing

i have a 7800gt pny
160gig sata 2 wd hdd
and a 550 watt psu
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817182029
if anyone has experianced this or what not please help me gimme a list of ideas to help get me going. i usually fix these things myself but i cant seem to get this one
__________________

__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 10:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to kaname
Default

Have you tried clearing your CMOS yet?
__________________

__________________
EVGA 680i SLi
E6400 @ 3.0 GHz
4 GB OCZ Platinum Rev. 2 EL @ 880
400GB + 250GB Seagate Barracuda SATA2
EVGA 8800GTs
Antec P180B Case
kaname is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 10:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

yeah ive tryed every jumper setting that would help which was only the two lol normal and clear.
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 11:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

ive tryed switching psu, it didnt do anything. maybe mobo? i hope not. it doesnt show symptoms of being a doa mobo
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 02:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to kaname
Default

I actually had a mobo that did the same thing, I was getting random reboots and shutdowns, then got no video signal, RMA'd the board and haven't had the problem since. It's the board in my sig. If it can still post I'd see if there's a BIOS update availble.
__________________
EVGA 680i SLi
E6400 @ 3.0 GHz
4 GB OCZ Platinum Rev. 2 EL @ 880
400GB + 250GB Seagate Barracuda SATA2
EVGA 8800GTs
Antec P180B Case
kaname is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 06:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

so do you think its th mobo or psu? i do recall now that i slep on it that my friend had the same problem we thought it was the video card then psu after changing t he psu it worked. very very similar thing
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 02:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

i hate to bump but i need help before tonight as i am leaving out of town and want to know if i should send back to seller for refund or not.
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 04:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

did you connect the 4 pin plug to the mobo?
jeremy is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 04:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

yeah.do you think my psu is too small its 550watts. ive tryed unplugging everything from my psu that isnt needed like fansd and things but it still didnt work
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 05:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

did you connect the 6 pin power plug to the video card? if not then do so , your psu should be good enough its possible you got the mobo DOA
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.