No Powerup, no POST. Help? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-20-2010, 07:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
Default No Powerup, no POST. Help?

So, I've had this computer for a few years now and recently it just...died on me. I assumed it was the processor, because I recently applied new thermal grease to it, because it was having overheating issues. So, I moved it to the basement for a night, and it powered up and worked fine for about 15-20 minutes, and then just died.

I tried to restart it, and it would not boot. The fans and LEDs would flicker for about a second, and then stop. The power light on the front of the computer would remain on (green). I have no idea what is causing this problem, and I even gutted the computer and reapplied thermal grease to the processor, making sure it was secure.

I've narrowed it down to the power supply, thinking it may have been a power surge, even though my computer was hooked up to a surge protector at the time. Either my motherboard is being conducted, or my supply is fried, but I honestly don't know. Any helpful advice?


Imatree is offline  
Old 08-20-2010, 07:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
patonb's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,737
Default Re: No Powerup, no POST. Help?

The psu is easy to check if you can get a digital multimeter aka DMM. You can buy one for under 20 bucks. Its a good investment if you have any need for 1 in the future.

Mobo is more difficult to diagnoes.

Did you pop off the cpu? if yes, double check for no bent pins or TIM in the socket.

Welcome to TF, sad you had to come cause youre broken.

Foldie = i7 950@ 4.0Ghz Gigabyte x58a-ud3r EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 3x2gb OCZ Gold Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 08-20-2010, 08:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 261
Default Re: No Powerup, no POST. Help?

Never mind, I was going to suggest jumping the power supply but don't want to feel responsible if something goes awry
NoNameNY is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Medion Composer 5100 powerup issue. Subsonic65 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 11-04-2008 08:09 PM
Must cycle standby power to powerup basenjifan Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 06-12-2008 09:31 PM
Random Powerup/shutdown loops Skeeter35 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 09-28-2007 03:15 AM
Computer Won't Powerup Guarding System Upgrades 2 06-01-2006 03:39 AM
Monitor switches to standby on powerup. Lucky Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 08-06-2004 03:07 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.