No Power / Graphics Card not working? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-25-2006, 02:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2
Default No Power / Graphics Card not working?

Hi, any help with this problem would be greatly appreciated...

I have bitten the bullet and decided to upgrade my system. I have bought a new DFI motherboard, Gainward Graphics card and Ebuyer Power supply. I have an old case from work, and have plugged in my old hard drive and 2 cd / dvd drives.

Motherboard: DFI nf4 Infinity
Graphics Card: Gainward Powerpack! 6600 PCI-E 256 mb
Memory: Crucial DDR PC2700 512mb

So basically I am not getting anything to the monitor. I have plugged everything in as I understand it. If I plug the 12v square power connector in then the cpu fan spins for a split second. Without it in, but with the main power connector in the fan runs fine. The red led's on the board come on whichever power is connected. There doesn't seem to be an additional power connector on the graphics card. I am missing a system fan at the moment - could this be a reason why it is not working?

thanks, fateyes

fateyes is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 02:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123

Are you sure it's not a problem with the monitor? Maybe switching power cords?

talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 02:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533

the psu is likely at fault its cheap crap , i suggest youll get antec truepower 2 430w , its also possible you got the mobo doa but its more likely the psu
jeremy is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 02:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2

i recognise the pwoer supply is cheap, but it did get very good reviews by other customers, and it is supplying at least some power - can it still be at fault (i.e supplying some power but not enough)?

the monitor is fine, as i have an old computer plugged in too, and i am swapping it over to test...

thanks for your suggestions...
fateyes is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 02:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
FlashDude's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude

Reset the cmos/battery. Are there any beeps? There's nothing wrong with you monitor the board isn't posting, Remove the ram and see if it beeps and same with the video card. 99.99% of the time this is motherboard.
FlashDude is offline  
Old 05-26-2006, 01:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 20

Are you sure the PSU can supply enough power to all the devices?

jcmoral is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.