No Power At All! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2005, 09:49 AM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

yes try replacing the mobo if you can, you might of shorted it out when putting it in the case i normally put the static cover in and put the mobo down wire it up and make sure it works then take the cover out and if it doesnt work then i no its shorted out .
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 09:52 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

yeah its a good idea using the static cover like that. keep this in mind if you swap with another m/b to test
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 09:53 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to Trice
Default

it's quit annoying. I have to move up to Cambridge to go to university on Sat. So i'm going to have to just take one of my old PC's with me. I can't replace the mobo because i don't have any of that kind, all my other PC's are Pentium, this mobo is an AMD. Lol. What a good start with using AMD huh? :P
Trice is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 09:55 AM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

dont lose faith! AMD all the way if it is fried you will now be wiser in if it happens again a expensive and painful learning process. And have fun in uni
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 09:56 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to Trice
Default

I'm not losing faith. You know.. The only computer related subject which gets me really frustrated is hardware. Lol. I love programming, keeps my blood pumping and my mind working But hardware is just annoying. Thanks

Thanks for all the help and all people
Trice is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 09:58 AM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

lol. welcome to TF by the way. i say try and get a hold of one more psu if possible and give that a try as well just to be sure if by some chance the second psu wasnt working
Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 10:00 AM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

yeah I love programming too even when it drives me mad! but iv grown to love hardware now too since getting used to it. Just like programming you get a challenge and overcome the problems. Although I wouldnt no half as much as I do now about hardware if it wasnt for the nice folk at tech forums *sucking up mode*
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 10:02 AM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to Trice
Default

Cheers Nitestick! i'll try to get a hold of another PSU. Hell i've got enough old PC's laying around the place. Lol. But alot were windows 95 or earlier.

Yeah Baronvongogo, but Hardware is a much more expensive subject than p rogramming :P And as you can guess, going to university will make me broke
Trice is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 10:06 AM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

lol. i look forward to going to university. only problem is i spend so much time here i'll never get the grades . windows 95 rigs will almost certainly be AT not ATX so yeah your probably right they won't work
Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-13-2005, 10:08 AM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

I did ok in my 1st year of uni and i spent most of my time playing games, although Im doing a computer games course so maybe it helped Good luck with your AMD build once its up and running
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.