No Power - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2005, 09:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Send a message via Yahoo to georgiaboy1977
Default No Power

I bought an emachine w1500 from a friend. (for 10 bucks)
and the whewn i got home and tryed to turn it on nothing happen. so i changed the power supply and the samething. NOTHING So i changed the swicth and the samething NOTHING.
The fan isn't running and no lights on. What should i do next?

georgiaboy1977 is offline  
Old 11-15-2005, 10:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 14

my first thought would be that mayby both are broken (both PSU's) have you opened them up to check the fuses. if the fans arent running and the psu had been running then it might have cooked itself, mayby check with a multimeter if you know how

PYROLUKE is offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 03:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359

ok questions.. Are the fans running on them at all?

IS the Power On switch properly connected to your motherboard..

you can do this as well to test the power supply I do it all the time.. HOWEVER BE VERY CAREFUL considering the nature of the device I'd reccomend getting a PSU tester however
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
kiyotaka is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 09:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Send a message via Yahoo to georgiaboy1977

no the fans are not running
i got a new power supply and it still has no power
i took the MB out and looked for burn spots but didn't find any thing.
georgiaboy1977 is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 09:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
H4x3r's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r

is it plugged in? make sure the switch on the PSU is set to's on the back of the PSU right next to the cord port
H4x3r is offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 10:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
Do not Stare at my Avatar
Ste's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,571
Send a message via MSN to Ste

Is the F-panel correctly connected to the power and reset switches in the front of case?

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.