No Power - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-04-2007, 08:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Default No Power

Ok well my computer is not turning on at all nothing no fans turn on no lights .I dont know whats wrong but this is what happen the other day.

I turned off my computer after few mins thinking it was shut down I noticed the button to turn on my comp the light in it was blinking .. So I thought **** I hit standby instead of shutdown..I moved my mouse pressed a few keys nothing happen blank screen as if the comp wasnt turned on .I ended up having the flip the switch in the back on the Power supply.Now got home this morning went to turn on my computer nothing happen no lights turned on no fans turned on nothing at all..I havnt moved my computer so dont think anything got loose.. We had a storm the night before and alot of lightning but dont think that was it..

I did open it up later after many tries making sure it was plugged in and getting power the Power supply did have a bit of a burnt smell to it but i dont know alot about this stuff so dont know if its burnt out or just the smell of the little bit of dust thats around the fan.I plan on just bringing it to the place I got it built and have them take a look .Hope its just the Power supply and that I wont have to spend tons on money on new stuff.

Anyways just wanted to see what you all think and maybe any good power supplys I should buy .. Right now the one in it is a Jpac 500w output.
__________________

Jester01 is offline  
Old 08-04-2007, 08:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: No Power

Power supply = dead. Have you tried connecting another PSU into your computer?
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-05-2007, 03:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: No Power

No I dont think I have any others laying around .. I might have one in the attick with all the old comp junk/parts but I dont remember there being any..If I do have one should I connect the entire thing or just try connecting 1 or 2 things just to see if it was my PSU thats dead or something else? also would it matter on what PSU I have to use or any will do? Like I said I dont know much at all about parts and so, and dont want to be doing somthing I shouldnt be. Thanks for reply
Jester01 is offline  
Old 08-05-2007, 12:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: No Power

Oh man! I forgot to say WELCOME TO Tech-Forums! !

Well let's see; at times, many components suck a lot of power, so some places in your computer might not be having the correct amount of power to start working. If you're planning to try another PSU, you could try connecting it to the optical drive. Some people would suggest you doing the paper-clip test, but I don't really know what that is. For now, try getting another PSU and connecting it to the optical drive. Hopefully some of TF members will be able to assist you through this process.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 07:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: No Power

Thanks ..Yeah I will have a look around see if I have any PSU laying around might have one somewhere with all the computer parts I have.thanks again
Jester01 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
power supply question raverx3m New Systems | Building and Buying 13 07-24-2007 10:24 AM
Power Supply Brinson Overclocking and Modding 4 06-13-2007 09:12 AM
Antec Sonata II Power Problem: BSoderstrom Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-12-2007 05:27 PM
AMD Athlonô 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
Can I use ATX Power supply without -5 volt out jar99 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-12-2007 02:28 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.