no power - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-06-2007, 01:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 39
Default no power

hi,just installed a new mobo and processor,but both in a packaged deal,installed memory ,hdd,tested psu it is good,but computer wont turn on,tried another psu ,still no go,can someone help.

k8m800-m2 mobo
amd sempron 3400+socket 754 cpu
__________________

eiocan is offline  
Old 07-06-2007, 01:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: no power

did you plug in the power switch?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-06-2007, 01:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 39
Default Re: no power

yes,tried another hdd ,still no go
eiocan is offline  
Old 07-06-2007, 01:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: no power

did you plug in the 4pin cpu power connector?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 07-06-2007, 01:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 157
Default Re: no power

Are you saying the power supply is not coming on, or is the computer getting power, but it won't boot up? You might look at the jumpers, reinstall the memory.
__________________
You light\'em we fight\'em
jayhawker01 is offline  
Old 07-06-2007, 01:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 39
Default Re: no power

yes plugged in,no fans nothing,i have a psu tester,tested ok,tried another psu,still nothing,no fans ,dead
eiocan is offline  
Old 07-06-2007, 05:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 157
Default Re: no power

Try a different electrical socket. Basically if you just plug the power cord to the power supply, and the power supply fan is not running, then you know it's not your pc. Try a different cable as well.
__________________
You light\'em we fight\'em
jayhawker01 is offline  
Old 07-06-2007, 08:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 39
Default Re: no power

hi,finally got it to turn on,power switch was in the wrong place,on the mobo, now i cant get any sound from my speakers,updated the drivers,put in cd did a speaker test,the green lines are moving up and down but no sound coming from speakers,it says everything is fine.can anyone help.
eiocan is offline  
Old 07-06-2007, 10:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: no power

once against: recheck connections "meticulously"
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Card Power Feeback? Lord Zeon Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-27-2007 07:45 PM
Power Supply Brinson Overclocking and Modding 4 06-13-2007 09:12 AM
Antec Sonata II Power Problem: BSoderstrom Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-12-2007 05:27 PM
AMD Athlonô 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
Can I use ATX Power supply without -5 volt out jar99 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-12-2007 02:28 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.