No Power - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-23-2006, 05:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 222
Lightbulb No Power

Hello!

I just built a new computer with a DFI Lan Party motherboard for a family member. So after I finished it, I pushed the power button, and the blue power LED lit up for about half a second and then shut off. Can anyone give me any leads? Thanx
__________________

__________________
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v4...odifiedsig.jpg
www.earthcity.us
Become a citizen. Live the legend.
Cerulean is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 05:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

What do the diagnostic LED's in the bottom left corner do?


What Power supply do you have?

List the following:

CPU
HDD
Video Card
RAM
__________________

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 08:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 222
Default

Thanx for responding

CPU is Athlon 3400
HDD is a Maxtor 80GB
RAM is Kingston 1GB DDR400
500watt ATX power supply (From a Turbo superalien case)
ATI Radeon x550 (not my first choice)
__________________
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v4...odifiedsig.jpg
www.earthcity.us
Become a citizen. Live the legend.
Cerulean is offline  
Old 12-24-2006, 03:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 222
Default

Alright, I thought i'd post a little update. After quite a bit of hardware troubleshooting and LOTS of reading, I finally figured out that the power supply was in fact the issue. Whether its because it's dead or incompatible with the motherboard is still unclear, but when I hooked up another one, the system lit up, unfortunately the new one has low wattage so it looks like it'll need to be upgraded to something with a little more output. Some of the online reading for this mobo states that this particular unit is extremely picky about what's hook in with it. I'll post an update later.
__________________
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v4...odifiedsig.jpg
www.earthcity.us
Become a citizen. Live the legend.
Cerulean is offline  
Old 12-24-2006, 04:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Indeed it is.


What power supply did the job?
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 12-24-2006, 04:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

yea, i dont trust the psu's that come with cases unless the psu that comes with it is name brand and is proven to be a good model.
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 02:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 222
Default

It's odd, because I've never had issues with those power supplies before. My guess is that it was just sitting out too long. The power supply that's in there for now is a Master Power psu, but the wattage is too low. The computer turns on for a few minutes then shuts off, so I'm thinking a 500watt will probably do the trick.

As for the old psu, it may not be the unit at all. A few reviews said this particular board is extremely picky when it comes to things like RAM, power supplies, and video cards. For future reference to all people on this site, it's a DFI Lan Pary motherboard N series.
__________________

__________________
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v4...odifiedsig.jpg
www.earthcity.us
Become a citizen. Live the legend.
Cerulean is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.