No Post, No one can figure out - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-04-2005, 02:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6
Default No Post, No one can figure out

Basically, I've swapped out parts and everything seems to work. However, when theyre all together, it doesnt even post. The parts:

Mobo: Abit KR7A-133
CPU: AMD Athlon XP 1800+
VidCard: 64mb Leadtek Winfast Geforce 3 ti 200
RAM: 2x 256 Cosair PC2100 DDR
Case: Antel 1040B with 400W PSU

everything else isnt very important since it wont even post with this stuff

After the CPU burnt out for no apparent reason, the computer has not worked. I replaced the CPU, but all the other parts seemed undamaged. I tried all the parts in other computers and cannot figure out what is wrong. Any help or suggestions would be helpful thanks.
__________________

cookiemonster is offline  
Old 09-04-2005, 02:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Maybe the CPU socket was damaged in the process? That, or make sure every single part is compatible with one another.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 09-04-2005, 05:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6
Default

I also tried another mobo and it didnt work. The parts are the same parts that I've used for 3 years and the computer ran smoothly. Could a faulty PSU make all the fans run, but not provide enough power to post?
cookiemonster is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 04:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

does your bios give you any beep codes?
joshd is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 08:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6
Default

I realized that I had burnt out my processor (I don't know how I do this because the system temp is usually like 45-50c) and I replaced it and it works. But I put in a XP2400+ and supposedly my mobo doesnt support it, I'm not sure what to put on the CPU speed in my bios. So what do I set the CPU, Ratio, Multiplier Factor to.
cookiemonster is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 02:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6
Default

up
cookiemonster is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 07:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

try a few things. clear NVRAM and see if it posts (remember to keep it on the cleared jumper until it beeps a few times). If it doesn't, may want to make sure the MBD isn't grounding out to the case. try running it OUTSIDE of the case. Just dont do this on fuzzy carpet, use rubber if available. Once all parts are out of the case try again if it runs its a grounding issue with the case.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 05:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks guys, my computer works (somewhat). The problem now is that the screen turns off and then back on when I do something that is intensive. I'm totally paranoid that the processor will burn out (because it has a couple times already) so I set the bios temperature warning to 65 degrees celsius. Now, is the screen flickering because the CPU is starting to overheat, my video card is crapping out, or is that the temperature warning?
cookiemonster is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 07:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6
Default

up
cookiemonster is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 07:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Probably vid card. Replace it and see if it helps. Also check monitor.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.