No output to the monitor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-05-2008, 11:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 10
Unhappy No output to the monitor

Ok, so my and a group of friends tried to overclock my Emachines W3052 as a research project for school. I know not the best for oc'ing but oh well. After we changed the settings and frequencies like 100 times, the motherboard was done (so i thought). Windows wouldnt load up and the LED on the monitor would flash on and off as if the pc was on standby. I bought a cheap replacement Motherboard seeing as it was for my parents when i go to college. The motherboard was a: PC CHIPS M848A (V5.0) A (462) SiS 746FX ATX AMD Motherboard. Still compatible with my Socket A AMD Sempron processor and PC3200 RAM. I purchased an: EVGA 128-P1-N320-LX GeForce FX 5500 128MB 64-bit DDR PCI Low Profile Video Card. I put all this stuff in, everything was plugged in correctly and the computer turns on, but the monitor LED still flashes on and off. This leads me to believe that i replaced everything but the problem: The Processor. If anyone has any ideas or insight on this problem, please share. Thanks in advance
__________________

dkkx809 is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 11:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: No output to the monitor

Did you clear the CMOS, on the first board? And then on the second board and problem remained for both?
Reseated the Video card?
Tried different RAM or at least a different RAM Slot?
Have you tried a different power supply?
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 11:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 10
Default Re: No output to the monitor

I also just cleared CMOS, changed the battery, tested the monitor on another computer. The monitor works for sure, i actually have it plugged into my laptop atm. I also put the video card in another PCI slot to make sure that it wasnt just the specific slot. The card itself works because the fan onboard is running. I have no clue as to what to do next. I also just tried pressing the Num Lock key while the computer was on and the light did NOT come on, therefore no power the the i/o's at all. I tried everything i could think of to solve it, but the CMOS reset and battery were all i could think of. The computer itself is on and you can hear the HD running and the LED on it is on so its getting power.

anyone?
dkkx809 is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 11:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 10
Default Re: No output to the monitor

RAM slots did nothing and my current 250W is the biggest PSU i have. i will ask friends for a larger one then post any progress. TY for suggestions
dkkx809 is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 12:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: No output to the monitor

Does the mobo have onboard video? Can you try another cheap video card for the heck of it?

Did you try different RAM and or in another slot?

Did you try another power supply? Are all power connectors connected and secured properly?


take the motherboard out of the case and place on a non-conductive surface, have only cpu/heatsink video card and 1 stick ram attached, see if it POST's.
Ste is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 12:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 10
Default Re: No output to the monitor

Ok. very odd, i took out the RAM and the MOBO did not beep at all. I have never had that happen.

No onboard video either
dkkx809 is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 12:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: No output to the monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post


take the motherboard out of the case and place on a non-conductive surface, have only cpu/heatsink video card and 1 stick ram attached, see if it POST's.

^^^^^^^^^
And you did that already and it does not POST?
Ste is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 12:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 10
Default Re: No output to the monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
^^^^^^^^^
And you did that already and it does not POST?
POST meaning? and i am doing it now

the mobo is not grounding out, ik that if that is what this is testing
dkkx809 is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 12:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: No output to the monitor

Power on self test = POST
If it works you will hear one beep and it will halt at POST screen since no mouse or keyboard connected.

How can you be absoluetely certain that it is not grounding out?
We must systematically elminate possibilities.
Ste is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 12:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 10
Default Re: No output to the monitor

The Mobo is on my carpeted floor, and i have the video card plugged in, the cpu/heatsink and 1x stick of RAM. I attatched the power supply and then plugged it in. It did nothing


I placed it on anti-static package that it is shipped in and set it on the case so i could plug in the power switch as well. Pressed the power and the fan on the heatsink turned on, but no beep
__________________

dkkx809 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No boot power turns on but no signal in monitor ekw808 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 03-05-2008 12:01 PM
New problem: no output because of monitor not vid card ulcajun New Systems | Building and Buying 13 09-18-2007 12:36 AM
New Monitor Time.... I guess?? sadisticmidget New Systems | Building and Buying 17 08-26-2007 07:32 PM
Dual Monitor Issue Ultra Steel Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-18-2007 08:03 AM
Looking for a new Computer Monitor ? Try this one.. Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-07-2007 09:26 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.