No NTLDR - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-08-2007, 01:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9
Default No NTLDR

i just formatted a 20gb IDE hd and now when i try to install XP on it, that message comes up, help?
__________________

ArchisT is offline  
Old 12-08-2007, 01:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: No NTLDR

give more steps....

ie., I get that message when:

I have vista ultimate installed on my c: drive
I connect my external esata and turn it on before turning on pc...the bios looks at my external first and thinks that's the boot drive and gives me that message...
I restart, change order in bios...and no problems...

so, are you installing off a cd?
if so, make sure your bios supports boot from cd...that should be fine
oh and legit software?
__________________

atomic tofu is offline  
Old 12-08-2007, 02:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: No NTLDR

the message comes up when either i boot from the blank HD, or when its trying to boot from the (yes legit) XP home cd, it says 'Press any key to boot from cd....."

No NTLDR
press CTRL+ALT+DEL to restart
ArchisT is offline  
Old 12-08-2007, 02:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 17
Send a message via MSN to SharpShotApollo
Default Re: No NTLDR

Hmm, it's possible that your XP cd has 'screwed the pooch'. If you have a different XP cd, try that, if not, do you know anyone with one?

That's what first comes to mind, if I think of anything else I'll get it on here asap.
SharpShotApollo is offline  
Old 12-08-2007, 02:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: No NTLDR

its not the CD considering i just installed with it like 2 days ago, CD is fine definately
ArchisT is offline  
Old 12-08-2007, 06:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: No NTLDR

help? please? anyone?
ArchisT is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 06:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: No NTLDR

It could also be a bad drive.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows xp ntldr hypermaxed Microsoft Windows and Software 4 10-10-2007 05:37 AM
ntldr missing Michowski Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 09-19-2007 01:27 AM
NTLDR is missing ??? joey1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 07-14-2007 07:07 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.