No Master IDE H.D.D. found... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2007, 01:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default No Master IDE H.D.D. found...

Yo! Finally got mobo back. Pc up and runnign again. So far lookin like that blasted problems gone. WC is shipped and on its way. Everything's running as smooth as butter now. 'Cept for one little pesky lump.

On bootup, after post and all that jazz, it print's:

"No Master IDE H.D.D found!

Press F1 to continue"

and thats it. I hit f1 and it boots normally. I was just wondering why its saying that, and is there something I can turn off so that it doesn't say that? I took a quick look around the BIOS but didn't find anythign right off. I don't have Any IDE hardware. All SATA.

I had a sata HD the last time as well and didn't get this error. But was running IDE DVD writer.

It's only a minor nuissance but if someone knows anything it'd be cool. I like to leave my PC while installing huge things that take 30 min, and have the PC restart on its own. So i'd like to not have to punch F1 every time.
__________________

__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 02:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: No Master IDE H.D.D. found...

look for something like "halt on errors" or something, I think this was mentioned somewhere
__________________

atomic tofu is offline  
Old 12-28-2007, 09:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
PRVRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Blackfoot, Idaho
Posts: 379
Default Re: No Master IDE H.D.D. found...

Looks like it is looking for an IDE HDD from BIOS. Need to go into BIOS and disable it. Check the boot sequence also. Somewhere in the Bios it is set to look for and IDE HDD.
__________________
PRVRT is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 01:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: No Master IDE H.D.D. found...

ic. I'll look around for that halt on errors thing. Boot sequence was first thing I looked at. its fine. thanks guys
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 12-29-2007, 11:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: No Master IDE H.D.D. found...

lmao. well got the error reporting thing turned off. And before I wen't in to even look for it ****ed overclocking failed thing popped back up again ffs.

I figured maybe vcore was too low for the crappy cpu so bumped it up one notch. then the pc wouldnt post lol. had to clear cmos and frig for a while and got it running again. now i've gotta sort through the miriad of problems clearing the CMOS caused me.

This mobo is going right in the trash can.

I'll gamble on an evga 780i thursday.

pos

edit~ sry for double post. didn't bother going through to read my own thread again and hit reply >.>
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SATA + IDE problem accousticbug Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 12-15-2007 09:47 PM
IDE RAID and SATA RAID togather abadjay Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-02-2007 02:37 PM
"No IDE H.D.D Master Detected!" -wtf?? Poemaster New Systems | Building and Buying 8 09-02-2007 01:40 AM
Yall know this? & AVG fp... atomic tofu Viruses, Spyware and Malware 5 08-14-2007 03:52 PM
Sudden problems running Doom 3 and Prey Ice8168 PC Gaming 2 07-15-2007 10:39 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.