No keyboard on POST - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2006, 03:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Default No keyboard on POST

Greetings,

Recently acquired a used Mobo and it won't "hit" the keyboard on POST and of course won't enter the BIOS with the DEL key or acknowledge any key functions. Used 3 different known working keyboards, wiggled the ps2 connector etc...nothing. It seems to POST OK otherwise.

I think the board is bad. Anyone agree with my diagnosis or have another opinion ? Thanks.
__________________

Nuxology is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 03:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

you have my vote
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 04:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Just a suggestion...

Look for the "Keyboard wakeup" jumpers in the motherboard manual. Make sure they are on correctly.

I'm not really sure what these jumpers do, but maybe they have something to do with it?
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 01:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 200
Default

does the keyboard work in windows? (thats if you aren't getting 'press f1 to continue')

Tried USB keyboard?
imation is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 10:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by imation
does the keyboard work in windows? (thats if you aren't getting 'press f1 to continue')

Tried USB keyboard?

I'm getting 'press F1...' and of course no response when pressed.
It would be interesting to try a USB keyboard. I don't think I have one around but may try to borrow one or something.
Nuxology is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 10:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

try the keyboard you have in another system to verify that it is good we had someone who couldnt get into windows setup because their f8 key was broken.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-21-2006, 11:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jcortes
try the keyboard you have in another system to verify that it is good we had someone who couldnt get into windows setup because their f8 key was broken.
He said he used three different working keyboards.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 05:57 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 200
Default

yea that is odd, i would say the ps2 port is poked..

Just another thing to check, do the caps lock/scroll lock lights flash when the computers turned on or when keyboard is plugged in?
__________________

imation is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.