No Image On Screen?!?!?! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-08-2007, 03:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Angry No Image On Screen?!?!?!

Hi, I'm having a problem with my computer. What happened was, I moved my computer to the other side of my room, so I disconnected all the wires. Then, when I reconnected the wires, I found that the 15th pin on the end of the VGA cable that plugs into the video card, is bent, so I bend it back straight. I plug it in, along with all the other wires, turn on my computer and get no image. So I try a different monitor, that doesn't work either. I moved the video card to another PCI slot, still doesn't work. I tried another video card in both those two PCI slots, still no image. I made sure everything in my comptuer was still plugged in, main power cord, hard drive cord, everything. This is driving me crazy. Can anyone please help?!? Thanks.
__________________

esheg4ever23 is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 01:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
westy159's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 182
Default Re: No Image On Screen?!?!?!

Have you got another VGA cable? Try it or buy a new one.
__________________

westy159 is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 06:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: No Image On Screen?!?!?!

And if that dosn't work try to go into BIOS and see if your video is set to PCIe or VGA whichever you have.I doubt if it just changed on you but it can't hurt checking...
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 06:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: No Image On Screen?!?!?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by westy159 View Post
Have you got another VGA cable? Try it or buy a new one.
My VGA cable goes directly into my monitor, I can't replace it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sPlAtOiD View Post
And if that dosn't work try to go into BIOS and see if your video is set to PCIe or VGA whichever you have.I doubt if it just changed on you but it can't hurt checking...
I can't get into BIOS, I get no image on the screen whatsoever. I noticed when my monitor is plugged in, it detects that it's plugged in, because when I unplug the VGA cable it says no signal, but I still get no image. This happened with 3 monitors I've tried so far, and none seem to work.
esheg4ever23 is offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 01:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: No Image On Screen?!?!?!

see if you covered this basics....
your system might have onboard video as well as the addon...
you may be simply connecting to the wrong one without realizing it...check to make sure there is only 1 vga port on the tower...
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 12-11-2007, 02:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: No Image On Screen?!?!?!

Well thanks everyone for the replies, but I got it to work. Apparently somehow my RAM slots had dust in them, so I took them out and blew in them and turned my computer on, and it worked. I don't know how this happened...
__________________

esheg4ever23 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone Screen Brighter Than iPod Osiris Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 4 09-15-2007 04:00 PM
Blue Screen before login Chrono Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 07-28-2007 03:36 AM
Image problem cool.blue Microsoft Windows and Software 0 07-11-2007 10:32 AM
Screen stays black.... Cajete Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-01-2007 08:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.