no image on monitor, when plug into new comp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2006, 11:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Default no image on monitor, when plug into new comp

built new comp and when i plug the monitor in nothing happens, nothing comes up on the screen, i dont have any drivers installed or OS, solutions?
__________________

danielmicman is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 04:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

check STE's forum guide in my sig you wanted canned speech 1 read and post back thanyou.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 05:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 76
Default

1) Remove EVERYTHING from the case
2) Set the motherboard on a non conductive surface. The motherboard box is perfect for this. .DO NOT PLACE THE MOTHERBOARD ON THE STATIC BAG! The outside of some of these can actually conduct electricity! We are going to try and assemble a running system outside of the case.
3) Install the CPU and heat sink.
4) Install the RAM (only install 1 stick for SDRAM, 2 for RDRAM)
5) Install the video card. Do make sure the card is FULLY seated.
6) Connect the monitor to the video card.
7) Connect the power supply to the motherboard. Do make sure you plug in the extra power connector [if used]
8) Connect power to the power supply
9) Do NOT connect ANYTHING else. Make sure you have the power connector on the CPU fan connected.
10) Use a small screwdriver to momentarily short the power switch connector on the motherboard.

If all is well, it should power up and you should get a display. You now have found you have a mounting problem. The board is shorting to the case. If not, then you most likely have a faulty component. You will need to swap parts with known good units ie power supply, cpu, ram, video card.
schusterjo is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 08:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Default

i already did all that, everything worked fine, and when i put everything back in it still worked, then when i plugged the monitor in, everything still worked fine, there just was no image on the monitor
danielmicman is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 09:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

everything worked fine as in it did display a picture?
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 05:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Default

no, the fans and everything worked fine, but there was no picture, i dont have any software installed yet, its a brand new computer and it's an xfx 7600 graphics card, when i plug the monitor in, it just displays nothing
danielmicman is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 08:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

First thing it could be is the graphics card, although I would check the memory too Iv had no displays due to bad DIMM slots. Try changing the RAM to different slots.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.