No Idea What's Wrong - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-18-2008, 08:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 28
Default No Idea What's Wrong

I'm new here and I'm not sure what the etiquette is for asking questions but I'm just going to go for it and hopefully get a positive response.

I have had ongoing problems with the computer I brought about 3 years ago. Had to replace the motherboard, RAM, and power supply. The problems never seem to stop. In hindsight the purchase of the computer was a poor decision. Anyways, my current problem is that when I start my computer up it loads and then when the desktop should pop up and windows should start it just goes to a black screen. I usually am fairly good with computers but I am stumped with this.

My question to the members of this board is from that very vague description is there anything people can think of to be wrong? I'm assuming it's a hardware problem...MoBo...hard drive...video card...but I really don't have any idea.

My second question is...I am willing to build a new computer, with help of course. Is this a better option considering all the problems I have had with this current set-up.

If people are willing to delve deeper and help me out I'm sure this could make more sense...so anybody willing I would be greatly appreciative.
__________________

Badgerme is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 12:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: No Idea What's Wrong

When you say black screen do you mean the computer continues to run but you have no video?

Or does it shut down?

Also what are the components and operating system?

If your computer is still running you may have a video card problem.

Do you have on board Video?
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 08:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 28
Default Re: No Idea What's Wrong

Quote:
Originally Posted by sPlAtOiD View Post
When you say black screen do you mean the computer continues to run but you have no video?

Do you have on board Video?
Yes the screen goes black and the computer stays on...no video. I have an on board Video card. I've had to replace a number of parts to the computer and to be completely honest I can't remember the makes and models of the new pieces. I'll have to open it back up and find out for sure. However, the original pieces are...

AMD ATHLON 64 3000+ RETAIL BOX
ALBATRON GEFORCE 6800 LE 128MB
GIGABYTE K8NS NFORCE3 754 GA-K8NS
MAXTOR 80GB 7200RPM ATA133 HD
(2x) 512MB PC3200 PC400 DDR
CASE FAN
BLACK TURBO X-INFINITY / WINDOW
BLACK 16X DVD/52X32X52 CDRW COMBO
BLACK MITSUMI 1.44MB FLOPPY
BLACK 6-IN-1 MEDIA READER
AC97 ONBOARD SOUND

I replaced the PSU about a year after purchase and both sticks of RAM about 2 years after.
Badgerme is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 09:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: No Idea What's Wrong

You can check to make sure the Video card didn't come loose try to re seat it. Try to hit f8 repeatedly while booting to get to the safe mode menu. Then try to start in safe mode. If you can then change your video settings or reload the video drivers.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 04:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: No Idea What's Wrong

Pretty much what sPlAtOiD said. If you can get into safe mode, reinstall your video card drivers from nvidia.com. Usually if you can see the window's boot screen, there is not a problem with your video card, just the drivers since it loads once you get into windows.
techdude01 is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 10:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 28
Default Re: No Idea What's Wrong

Quote:
Originally Posted by techdude01 View Post
Pretty much what sPlAtOiD said. If you can get into safe mode, reinstall your video card drivers from nvidia.com. Usually if you can see the window's boot screen, there is not a problem with your video card, just the drivers since it loads once you get into windows.
I tried to do this but when I restart an error message comes up that says my computer shut down un-expectedly. There's a countdown from 30 and then it starts windows up. However, on that same screen you can choose, launch in safe mode, launch with last settings that worked, etc...however for some reason I can't use my keyboard to arrow to safe mode. I have no idea what to do.
Badgerme is offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 11:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: No Idea What's Wrong

Are you using a USB keyboard? If so, you want to enable USB Keyboard function within BIOS in order for it to work where you can select safe mode.
techdude01 is offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 07:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 28
Default Re: No Idea What's Wrong

Quote:
Originally Posted by techdude01 View Post
Are you using a USB keyboard? If so, you want to enable USB Keyboard function within BIOS in order for it to work where you can select safe mode.
Yes I am using a USB keyboard. How do I get into BIOS to enable the USB keyboard function? Through set-up during start up?
Badgerme is offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 07:38 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Niverive Send a message via MSN to Niverive Send a message via Yahoo to Niverive
Default Re: No Idea What's Wrong

You can enter BIOS by pressing a specific key when you first startup your PC, most are either F2, Delete key, or Esc to enter BIOS I think yours would be Delete key, but i may be wrong
__________________
OS: Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit
MOBO: ASUS M3N72-D (AM2+ Socket) CPU: AMD Phenom II 965 x4 Memory: 2GBx2 800 DDR2 Ram
HDD: 320GB (298GB) WDC WD3200AAKS SATA HDD2: 1TB WDC WD1001FALS SATA
Video: 8600GT OC Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Niverive is offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 11:06 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: No Idea What's Wrong

With gigabyte motherboards, it should be the delete key. Once you are in, look at the first screen shot in the link below. Make sure you're USB keyboard support is enabled.

Gigabyte GA-K8NNXP Review - Page 6 - WARNING! Many BIOS screens
__________________

techdude01 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Registry cleaning software - good idea? DJ EndurancE Microsoft Windows and Software 16 03-12-2008 08:08 AM
Whats wrong? <[MaTT]> Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 12 12-23-2007 12:40 PM
idea: daul boot without rebooting? savagenator Linux and Open Source 7 06-11-2007 05:41 PM
My genius university idea? Arumuni Microsoft Windows and Software 4 05-24-2007 05:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.