No HDD Detected - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2012, 06:42 AM   #11 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 838
Default Re: No HDD Detected

Really? Which country are you in? Because over where I am there are 0 PC's that are laptops that have 2 HDD bays. So I guess I am uninformed here due to me being in another country.
__________________

__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 10:05 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: No HDD Detected

I don't think it depends on country. You probably never saw one.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 10:11 AM   #13 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: No HDD Detected

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke127 View Post
Really? Which country are you in? Because over where I am there are 0 PC's that are laptops that have 2 HDD bays. So I guess I am uninformed here due to me being in another country.
Country doesn't matter... a lot of higher-end laptops have 2 drive bays. My Asus G73jh has 2 bays, my friend's Alienware M17x has 2 bays, I've seen a lot of higher end Dell Latitutes have 2 bays at work. Most lower end, or normal consumer-grade laptops won't have 2 bays.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 11:22 AM   #14 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: No HDD Detected

Any laptop over 16.5" usually has one..... My acer 8930g does too
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2012, 12:45 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,077
Default Re: No HDD Detected

Quote:
Originally Posted by gtr-2 View Post
I contacted MSI, they weren't sure what was happening, they sent me a new driver, after installing I still get the No Hard Drive Detected message but it boots to windows now.
Are you actually in your bios settings or is this some type of warning that pops up on the screen before the os loads?
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:24 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 41
Default Re: No HDD Detected

To update this thread, (it is a desktop by the way) after the bios driver they sent me my keyboard would not work in the bios with certain USB ports. Only 2 ports were allowing my keyboard to work. Did some testing with another keyboard, nothing. The original message was before booting to windows on the black screen.
I can't tell if I enabled RAID because I sent the motherboard back to MSI, it should be back next week. It's possible.

Also I have a Dell Inspiron 1720 laptop, it has 2 bays.
gtr-2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 06:41 AM   #17 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 838
Default Re: No HDD Detected

That's funny, Inspirons are a consumer version of the latitude. I didn't think they would have 2 but I suppose if you spend enough cash anything is possible.
__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 08:37 AM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: No HDD Detected

Quote:
Originally Posted by gtr-2 View Post
To update this thread, (it is a desktop by the way) after the bios driver they sent me my keyboard would not work in the bios with certain USB ports. Only 2 ports were allowing my keyboard to work. Did some testing with another keyboard, nothing. The original message was before booting to windows on the black screen.
I can't tell if I enabled RAID because I sent the motherboard back to MSI, it should be back next week. It's possible.

Also I have a Dell Inspiron 1720 laptop, it has 2 bays.
Depending on when you sent it back, you'll be waiting about 3 or 4 weeks to get your item back from them.
Little heads up, your bios maybe at original factory default again, if you know the model number of the motherboard go ahead and pick up updated bios.
__________________

-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No HDD detected? Skiller. Laptops and Notebooks 14 04-01-2010 08:56 AM
Sata HDD not detected. 24kobe Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 05-29-2009 10:30 PM
hdd not detected fre2mar Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 11-26-2008 10:39 PM
Whole HDD not being detected bomt697 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-14-2007 08:17 PM
HDD not detected owenma435 Overclocking and Modding 2 06-04-2006 11:44 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.