No HDD Detected - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2012, 08:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 41
Default No HDD Detected

A new build, about 1 month.

Motherboard: MSI P67-GD80
PCU: Intel i5 2500k
GPU: Radeon 7950
RAM: Vengaence 2x4 Gb
PS: Corsair 750w
SSD: Intel 510 120 Gb

Has been running well, a couple of days ago it started booting to the Bios, I hit escape save then it usually goes to Windows 7, sometimes it loops back to the Bios screen. The SSD firmware is up to date, same with all drivers. Any help? Thanks.
__________________

gtr-2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 08:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: No HDD Detected

Sounds stupid, but did you double check the cables?
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 09:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 41
Default Re: No HDD Detected

Yes, cables are fine, someone told me to try another HD. All I have is a laptop HD with no cable to connect it to the motherboard.
gtr-2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 11:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 41
Default Re: No HDD Detected

I contacted MSI, they weren't sure what was happening, they sent me a new driver, after installing I still get the No Hard Drive Detected message but it boots to windows now.
gtr-2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 12:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: No HDD Detected

Very weird...
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2012, 11:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 838
Default Re: No HDD Detected

Wait how does windows boot if it's saying no HDD??? Because that is just strange...... Is your BIOS up to date? You said your drivers were good so no worries with them. What about windows itself? Any strange occurrences? Check the event log for anything out of the ordinary. Post back when this is done.
__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 12:12 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: No HDD Detected

I doubt Windows would post anything about this. Windows isn't crashing, it just cannot always see the SSD when starting up. Try a new SATA cable, or perhaps a different port on your board.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 12:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 71
Default Re: No HDD Detected

Looks you have enabled the raid in the BIOS and do not have a raid array and that what board is looking for. Simply disable the raid. Your problem will be solved.
brettbaynaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 11:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 838
Default Re: No HDD Detected

Quote:
Originally Posted by brettbaynaard View Post
Looks you have enabled the raid in the BIOS and do not have a raid array and that what board is looking for. Simply disable the raid. Your problem will be solved.
Are you sure this will work? Secondly this could be a heck of a lot more then a RAID array. But I guess it might work. Is this PC a laptop or Desktop PC? Because latops don't usually have RAID.
__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 11:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: No HDD Detected

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke127 View Post
Are you sure this will work? Secondly this could be a heck of a lot more then a RAID array. But I guess it might work. Is this PC a laptop or Desktop PC? Because latops don't usually have RAID.
Not true. Several new ones have 2 HDD bays now. So they can RAID together.

And before we know, he has to try it.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No HDD detected? Skiller. Laptops and Notebooks 14 04-01-2010 08:56 AM
Sata HDD not detected. 24kobe Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 05-29-2009 10:30 PM
hdd not detected fre2mar Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 11-26-2008 10:39 PM
Whole HDD not being detected bomt697 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-14-2007 08:17 PM
HDD not detected owenma435 Overclocking and Modding 2 06-04-2006 11:44 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.