No Display to monitor on a newly built computer - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2012, 09:57 PM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 21
Default Re: No Display to monitor on a newly built computer

im using corsair vengeance sticks of ram and i plug the bard into my monitor and the video card still nothing
__________________

GoingSomeplace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 10:01 PM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: I could be anywhere, at any time
Posts: 129
Default Re: No Display to monitor on a newly built computer

need more specifics about the memory, actual model number pls
__________________

ugoboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 10:13 PM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 21
Default Re: No Display to monitor on a newly built computer

im using 4 sticks of 4gm each ram.

but only have 1 in atm


i have a 500g hdd and 25g ssd
GoingSomeplace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 10:15 PM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: I could be anywhere, at any time
Posts: 129
Default Re: No Display to monitor on a newly built computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoingSomeplace View Post
im using 4 sticks of 4gm each ram.

but only have 1 in atm


i have a 500g hdd and 25g ssd
you can't get me the exact model number? there's many coursair vengeance sticks with that setup...
ugoboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 10:26 PM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 21
Default Re: No Display to monitor on a newly built computer

yeah sorry well it says

1600mhz 9-9-9-24 1.50v ver2.12

then soe number sequences 164698, 122110474
GoingSomeplace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 10:35 PM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 21
Default Re: No Display to monitor on a newly built computer

im sorry if this still sint what your asking for.. i am really noob when it comes to this..
GoingSomeplace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 10:48 PM   #27 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: I could be anywhere, at any time
Posts: 129
Default Re: No Display to monitor on a newly built computer

still hard to tell with those numbers because they describe the technology but not the actually part number. The problem here is that there are certain sticks with the numbers 4a in them that are Guaranteed compatible with that board, however if they have 4x in the part number neither corsair nor asus lists them as compatible. And both sticks would have the same specs as the ones you listed

It is unlikely the board wouldn't post if you have the 4x models i'm guessing but at the very least you would likely have problems.


**ok, well where did you buy the memory? new egg perhaps? if you bought online anywhere you might have a receipt in your email, it will list the model/part number on this receipt.
ugoboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 11:05 PM   #28 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 21
Default Re: No Display to monitor on a newly built computer

yes on new egg ill check it right now

---------------------------------------------------------------------

CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9R
GoingSomeplace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 11:20 PM   #29 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: I could be anywhere, at any time
Posts: 129
Default Re: No Display to monitor on a newly built computer

Great. Ok, well basically the gist of it is that model is listed as compatible on corsairs site, however corsair doesn't list in what configuration its supported. In other words its not a definite that buying two sets of those and using all 4 slots with them is completely supported. Asus doesn't list those particular ones with the "R" at the end, but that might just be because those came out after their compatibility list was published. Regardless all of this doesn't matter anyway, since they are most definitely supported with at least 2 chips (which you tried) and even 1 chip I can't imagine 1 chip by itself wouldn't work. So we've ruled that out as to why the board isn't posting.
ugoboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 11:23 PM   #30 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: I could be anywhere, at any time
Posts: 129
Default Re: No Display to monitor on a newly built computer

I wish someone else would help out with this as I am running out of ideas except for
1. A short
2. The possibility you made a mistake when installing the CPU (i don't even know if that's possible with core-series cpu since I've never installed one)
3. or just a plain bad board.
__________________

ugoboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with newly built computer kronos2000 System Upgrades 1 02-20-2011 09:02 PM
Newly built computer Compguys Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 07-08-2007 09:23 PM
Newly built pc: blotchy display & ati drivers headaches dfourthhorseman Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 07-16-2006 12:19 AM
monitor continuously on standby (newly built pc) graeme101 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 01-13-2006 11:45 PM
Newly built computer having problem delitax Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 09-17-2005 05:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.