No Display to monitor on a newly built computer - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2012, 08:21 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 21
Default

hmm well when i plug in a dvi input it switches and says no dvi signal but ill go ahead n check right now

shoot it does have a switch but i switched it no hdmi and has a blue screen with no signal, wen plugged into the motherboard and video card
__________________

GoingSomeplace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 08:26 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: I could be anywhere, at any time
Posts: 129
Default Re: No Display to monitor on a newly built computer

:/ Ok, after turning the computer on, and then hit power button to turn it off, does it go off right away or do you have to hold the button down?
__________________

ugoboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 08:28 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 21
Default Re: No Display to monitor on a newly built computer

it has to be held down for a few seconds
GoingSomeplace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 08:45 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: I could be anywhere, at any time
Posts: 129
Default Re: No Display to monitor on a newly built computer

Ok, it's not posting for sure. I like to rule out all possibilities before considering a short b/c that's a pain.

Do you know how to reset the cmos on your board?
I do something unconventional when doing this on some boards it seems to have an effect.
first take out all your ram.
Put the reset jumper on the reset pin and turn the computer on. wait like 10 seconds and turn it off again (btw always make sure the power cable is unplugged whenever touching components and ground yourself by at the very least touching a metal part of the case).
Now replace the memory, put the pin back in the default position and now try to see if you post.

** by unplugging the power cable I mean the one on the back of the power supply btw*
ugoboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 08:51 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 21
Default

ok going to do it now. give me a minute.

and thanks for your help~

ok well for some reason i dont see it... near the battery there is a spot for a cpu fan 1
but there is no cmos reset prongs

ok i hav a cmos reset button on the back and i pressed that with no ram and the power switch on
GoingSomeplace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 09:17 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: I could be anywhere, at any time
Posts: 129
Default Re: No Display to monitor on a newly built computer

ok that is one way to do it, there is a reset pin on the actual board on that board though, it's right next to coin battery (to the left) just so you know. Anyway turn it off and put your ram back in, power on and lets see.
ugoboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 09:19 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 21
Default

alright will do

dang still nothing no hdmi/dvi video :\
GoingSomeplace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 09:31 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: I could be anywhere, at any time
Posts: 129
Default Re: No Display to monitor on a newly built computer

use the jumper then just to be certain. Your manual actually says if all fails, you should remove the rtc battery (it looks like a coin in case you don't know) and then place the jumper on pins 2 and 3. I say to take it one step further and remove the ram before doing all this and turn it on shut it off... put the jumper back on pins 1 and 2 and put the battery back in.
ugoboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 09:36 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 21
Default

ok im going to give it a try

well thats a negative no picture and i removed the battery and did it manually hit the reset switch too
GoingSomeplace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 09:47 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: I could be anywhere, at any time
Posts: 129
Default Re: No Display to monitor on a newly built computer

Is this with the onboard video or do you have the graphics card plugged in?

what make/model memory do you have?
__________________

ugoboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with newly built computer kronos2000 System Upgrades 1 02-20-2011 09:02 PM
Newly built computer Compguys Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 07-08-2007 09:23 PM
Newly built pc: blotchy display & ati drivers headaches dfourthhorseman Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 07-16-2006 12:19 AM
monitor continuously on standby (newly built pc) graeme101 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 01-13-2006 11:45 PM
Newly built computer having problem delitax Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 09-17-2005 05:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.