no display on monitor, help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2008, 11:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 49
Default no display on monitor, help

My brothers PC will load windows anymore, it loads the DFI motherboard screen (BIOS doesn't work) and then the monitor says "no signal", and just has that no signal sign and that's it.

Anyone know what's wrong with it? It's a new PC, about half a week old.

Specs

Intel quad core cpu
DFI lanparty SLI board 775
nvidia 9800GTX
4 gb ram, OCZ I believe
120gb SATA HD

It's been running great up until now, my first guess was a videocard issue, anyone know?
__________________

mypcbroke is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 11:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: no display on monitor, help

my old system did that, i believe it was a video card driver issue or some thing of the like (ii have not solved the problem my self yet but that is what i suspect, haven't really had time to mess around with it)
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 11:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: no display on monitor, help

Hello,

It sounds as if the onboard video could still be enabled. Have you turned this setting off in the BIOS.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 11:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 49
Default Re: no display on monitor, help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213 View Post
Hello,

It sounds as if the onboard video could still be enabled. Have you turned this setting off in the BIOS.

Cheers,
Mak
that's the thing, I haven't figured out how to get into bios yet, I press del on startup but nothing happens
mypcbroke is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 11:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: no display on monitor, help

sorry for thread jacking but mak, what would u think the problem is if i took out the gpu (re-enabled the onboard though) and it did this?
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 11:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: no display on monitor, help

Hello,

MyPC anyway you can take a pic of your BIOS Screen? That way maybe we could help you find it?

Luke,

If you took out the GPU and it sill didn't load? Then it could be in need of a BIOS update.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-28-2008, 12:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: no display on monitor, help

^thanks mak, i'll stop thread jacking now hehe.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 06-28-2008, 03:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,665
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: no display on monitor, help

On the bottom of the DFI motherboard screen it might list a few options for you, like how to enter into the BIOS.
As mentioned by luke, it could be that the driver for your 9800 is corrupt. if that's the case try replacing the 9800 with an older card (if you have one).
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 06-28-2008, 05:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 49
Default Re: no display on monitor, help

Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ULphIRE View Post
On the bottom of the DFI motherboard screen it might list a few options for you, like how to enter into the BIOS.
As mentioned by luke, it could be that the driver for your 9800 is corrupt. if that's the case try replacing the 9800 with an older card (if you have one).
not to be rude, but why would it just start messing up half a week after the drivers were updated? Everything was running great before.

There isn't anything that tells me how to enter BIOS on the mobo screen, and I don't have an older card atm.
mypcbroke is offline  
Old 06-28-2008, 09:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,665
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: no display on monitor, help

^ key word being 'corrupt' meaning 'broken' or just generally 'not-working-properly'. Things don't follow a schedule as to when they have to break either, so if it happened half a week after your update it doesn't really matter

If you can't enter the BIOS, try resetting it.
Unplug the power. Try to boot (to get rid of all the stored charge in the capacitors)

Take out the CMOS battery OR remove/insert the jumper on the two pins (that should be near the battery) and wait a few seconds, then replace the battery/jumper
Plug the power back in, and try booting again.
__________________

__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LCD Display takes long time to display picture upon startup Drewser Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 10-11-2007 06:50 PM
Catalyst 7.7 Display Drivers Osiris Overclocking and Modding 3 07-22-2007 04:02 PM
Triple monitors sans Xinerama? Greg Linux and Open Source 3 07-06-2007 01:55 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.