No Display - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2006, 05:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 70
Default No Display

I am having problems with my parents computer at home. There is nothing being displayed on the monitor. The computer boots up and no beeps or anything. The LCD is fine I hooked it up to the other computer and comes on fine. My first reaction was that the video card was bad so i got a pci card and put it in ( I removed the agp card ) Anyway nothing still on the computer screen. So I took the ram out of the computer and i am getting no beeping or anything. So what are the possible list of problems. The CPU fan comes on and it runs. I let it just run for hours and it doesnt shut of so i am assuming that its not a processor problem.


Thanks guys
__________________

__________________
AMD 3400+
Abit KV8 PRO
1 gig ddr 3200
ATI ALL in Wonder 9700 128 meg
4 Sata\'s 420 gig, 320 gig , 200 gig , 160 gig
3 Maxtor One Touch 200, 160 , 120
NEC MultiSync 1765
alnilla is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 05:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default

How did you troubleshoot the video card ? Please explain it better/clearer (Sounds like the card is dead or maybe the slot is dead).
__________________

__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 06:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 70
Default

What i did to troubleshoot the card was i tried it with different monitors. Tried it on a CRT and a LCD and nothing at all. I tried another agp card in the slot and it wouldnt turn on the screen. I figured right there that it was the agp slot. So i bought a PCI card and i am getting the same results. There is nothing in the AGP slot right now at all.
__________________
AMD 3400+
Abit KV8 PRO
1 gig ddr 3200
ATI ALL in Wonder 9700 128 meg
4 Sata\'s 420 gig, 320 gig , 200 gig , 160 gig
3 Maxtor One Touch 200, 160 , 120
NEC MultiSync 1765
alnilla is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 06:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default

Do you have anything else in your PCI slots that is currently working (ie a sound card, ethernet card etc ) ?
__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 06:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 70
Default

yeah i have a usb 2.0 card in there now and it was working fine.
__________________
AMD 3400+
Abit KV8 PRO
1 gig ddr 3200
ATI ALL in Wonder 9700 128 meg
4 Sata\'s 420 gig, 320 gig , 200 gig , 160 gig
3 Maxtor One Touch 200, 160 , 120
NEC MultiSync 1765
alnilla is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 08:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
korky122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to korky122
Default

no ram = no video. if you have more than one stick of ram put it in the slot closest to the processor. i belive if u have a video card and then try to use onboard video u have to disable something in the bios.
__________________
Core 2 Quad @ 2.5ghz (slacr)
3 gigs corsair xms2 ram
8800 gt 512 mb superclocked
Windows Vista
korky122 is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 01:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 70
Default

I fixed the problem before reading the post above. The ram was pop out a little bit. The battery on the mobo was dead so it wasnt making any beeping noises. The pci card works fine. The agp slot is shot.
__________________

__________________
AMD 3400+
Abit KV8 PRO
1 gig ddr 3200
ATI ALL in Wonder 9700 128 meg
4 Sata\'s 420 gig, 320 gig , 200 gig , 160 gig
3 Maxtor One Touch 200, 160 , 120
NEC MultiSync 1765
alnilla is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.