No CPU temp? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2010, 10:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default No CPU temp?

HDmonitor wa showing my CPU temps and now its not... it says 0*C.

any idea why?
__________________

__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 05-28-2010, 10:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: No CPU temp?

Got no idea why at the moment, have you tried any other software to get readings or checked you BIOS?
__________________

__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 05-28-2010, 10:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: No CPU temp?

well the only thing i did that i can think that would have changed it is when my computer starts, and the screen pops up where you push " delete " to enter the bios, there were 2 other options, " push TAB to see post bios report " and " push 4 to do soemthing else " i dont remember what pushing " 4 " did but i pushed 4, then my computer restarted and the screen that you enter the bios looks different now, there is a picture of an AMD processor at the bottom right screen and now the option to push " 4 " is gone and it says " ***** 4 cores activated ***** ".

thats the only thing i can think of that i did, but i dont understant how that wouldnt me see the temp bios.

and i have also tried " speedfan " to check the temps and it says 0*C also...
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 05-28-2010, 11:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: No CPU temp?

That 4 crap is BIOS level, that has nothing to do with your OS program. Go into CMOS and see what it says. If nothing, your internal sensor is broken.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-29-2010, 12:36 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: No CPU temp?

... whats CMOS?
__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 05-29-2010, 12:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: No CPU temp?

Think he meant BIOS, CMOS is the battery on the motherboard which on old boards you can take out to reset it.
__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 05-29-2010, 12:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Sean W.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Claremont CA.
Posts: 2,095
Default Re: No CPU temp?

in the bios it tells me the temp of the CPU.

EDIT: i fixed it the " push 4 " option said " push 4 to enable Auto clock Calibration " so i dissabled auto clock calibration and that fixded it

__________________
Modded Raidmax Hyperion Case
MSI Z97M Gaming
4770K
16gigs Corsair Vengeance 1866mhz
SLI GTX 980s
Samsung 830 Series 128gig SSD
EVGA G2 850W power supply
2x Alphacool ST30 240mm, 1x Alphacool ST30 120mm, swiftech Micro res, Enzotech Rev A. CPU water block, Full Coverage EKWB GPU blocks, modded Vari MCP655 pump
LG 34UM95 21:9 Ultrawide 3440x1440 monitor
Sean W. is offline  
Old 05-29-2010, 10:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: No CPU temp?

I get the two mixed up, sorry. Yes, I meant BIOS.

Glad you got it fixed.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-29-2010, 01:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: No CPU temp?

Here you go

BIOS and CMOS Basics
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
holy cpu temp. chump Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 12 10-23-2009 11:51 PM
CPU Temp. obxdude018 System Upgrades 1 10-09-2009 07:43 PM
Here ye Here ye I need a cpu cooling solution but more importantly your advice Kyrone Overclocking and Modding 8 07-18-2009 12:13 AM
where to place CPU temp probe? Antec-User New Systems | Building and Buying 1 02-23-2009 10:14 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.