No boot device available, press ENTER key to retry - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-19-2012, 08:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default No boot device available, press ENTER key to retry

I'm looking for a quick solution on this one as I will be taking it to work with me tomorrow and delivering it afterwards.

On a cold boot (has been sitting off for a few hours) this Inspiron Desktop 537S will come up and say "No boot device available, press ENTER key to retry". No matter how many times you hit Enter it says the says the same thing. You can then give it a three fingered salute and it will boot on up, or you can power it down and power it back up and it will boot on up.

I have reseated the cables to the hard drive and the BIOS looked OK to me (first boot device is hard drive, second is optical, third is USB, all others disabled).

Suggestions?
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-19-2012, 11:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: No boot device available, press ENTER key to retry

I'd say the HDD or PSU is bad.

Did you try a different power plug into that HDD? SMART ever say anything to you?
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-20-2012, 12:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,665
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: No boot device available, press ENTER key to retry

Does it work if you manually choose the boot device on startup (i.e press F8 or F12, whatever is the select boot menu button)?
Tried it with the USB and optical drives removed?
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 02-20-2012, 03:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Send a message via Yahoo to erwincl
Default Re: No boot device available, press ENTER key to retry

When booting up, press Del or F2, depending on your BIOS model (check your manual). And then look for device boot up priority. If you are installing a new OS, point the first priority to CD/DVD, but if you have an OS already then choose HDD, then save your configuration, then exit. You PC should be able to see a bootable device.

Also, on the BIOS level, you will be able to see the devices detected by your computer.
erwincl is offline  
Old 02-20-2012, 07:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: No boot device available, press ENTER key to retry

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
I'd say the HDD or PSU is bad.

Did you try a different power plug into that HDD? SMART ever say anything to you?
HDD checks out fine. I see no signs of the PSU being the issue, but I did go ahead and swap the HDD and ODD power plugs for the heck of it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by S0ULphIRE View Post
Does it work if you manually choose the boot device on startup (i.e press F8 or F12, whatever is the select boot menu button)?
Tried it with the USB and optical drives removed?
I didn't get to try manually selecting the drive, but the owner doesn't want to have to fool with that... she just wants it to boot without her having to mess with it every time.

It only does it on a cold boot when it has been off for a few hours, and not every time then.

Quote:
Originally Posted by erwincl View Post
When booting up, press Del or F2, depending on your BIOS model (check your manual). And then look for device boot up priority. If you are installing a new OS, point the first priority to CD/DVD, but if you have an OS already then choose HDD, then save your configuration, then exit. You PC should be able to see a bootable device.

Also, on the BIOS level, you will be able to see the devices detected by your computer.
Thanks for your input, erwinc1. I do this stuff for a living so I had already checked all that out. This situation just seems to be out of the norm.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-20-2012, 09:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: No boot device available, press ENTER key to retry

You try resetting the BIOS, Trotter?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-20-2012, 09:36 AM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: No boot device available, press ENTER key to retry

No, but it has been firing up fine for the past few times. Maybe swapping the power cables did it... I dunno.

I will tell her to let me know if it does it anymore.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boot Disk Failure: Insert System Disc and Press Enter lazer_viking Overclocking and Modding 8 07-21-2008 06:49 PM
Press any key to boot from CD.... cway Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-25-2008 08:35 PM
Disk Boot Failure, Insert System Disk And Press Enter zenyora Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 06-20-2006 03:40 AM
windows xp gives me press F1 to retry....HELP!! joeb Microsoft Windows and Software 15 03-25-2006 12:11 PM
disk boot failure, insert system disk and press enter sanic Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 02-03-2004 06:04 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.