No boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2006, 04:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Default No boot

I'm sure I am not the only one to have this problem but here goes. I am getting a computer ready for my daughter for when she leaves to be out on her own. Its an older machine with a AMD Athlon processor that worked when last used but now it has difficulties. I am putting in a used 30 gig HD (still has windows XP and other files on it) in the machine but when I try to boot up the machine it doesnt POST and I get nothing on the monitor. The green light on the monitor flashes but other than that I see nothing. I installed a new power supply as part of getting the machine ready to use as I had "borrowed" one out of it to fix another machine. I swapped out a known good power supply to rule out a defective part and it still has the same issue. I swapped out video cards, same problem. Do I need to reformat the HD?

Thanks for any help you guys may have for me!
__________________

sparticus is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 06:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Default

bump
__________________

sparticus is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 11:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

So you get no beeping or anything. It's probably your motherboard , CPU or memory.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 11:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 438
Default

if its not posting at all try flashing ur bios just take out the battery for a minute and then replace and try to start the machine and yes u will have to format the drive using a windows install disk do you know the hard drive works do you have another machine you could connest it to to try it out are you sure all ur cables are secured tightly
__________________
Q6600@ 3.0ghz
eVGA 680i A1
4x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800
2x8800gt xFx
Coolermaster Stacker 830
an51r is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 06:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Default

The hard drive even though old works very well, I just downloaded all the important stuff from it to my other drive before I tried to install it in this machine. I did a reset of the cmos jumper for a few min but that didnt help. I tried several different ram sticks but all with the same result, no POST. Even with out a hard drive installed I should at least get something on the monitor shouldnt I?
sparticus is offline  
Old 12-13-2006, 02:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 76
Default

Bios battery, Looks like a large watch battery on the motherboard.
Take it out and go to walmart or radio shack and get a new one.
schusterjo is offline  
Old 12-16-2006, 04:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Just thought I would do a followup on the problem I was having. It turned out to be the MOBO. Wasnt too bad for price, $52.
__________________

sparticus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.