nic problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-26-2006, 10:29 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default nic problems

hello

i got a p3 800(e) on a gigabye main board - ati 9200 agp video - 448 ram - 8 gig hdd - 20 gig hdd - 5.1 sound - win98 se

i got a new nic card and it installed fine windows says all works ok - but i can noit get a ip address for the interent - all i got is a 169 address - i have tried 3 cards in the system and all the same luck - i tried my nic from my main system and it works - i also tried to hook up my motorola surfmodem to the 800 via usb and with no luk to get it on the net - the only nic that worked is bacn in my main rig - and i can not get any other nic to work at all - any ideas ? this is beyond annoying
__________________

beanster is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 10:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

Do you use a router?
__________________

__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 10:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default

no router or hub - its hooked straigh from the modem to pc
beanster is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 10:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

start > right click my computer > manage > services and applications > services > dhcp client > make sure that is set to automatic first and let us know if that doesnt fix the problem and we can give you more suggestions.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 11:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default

nothimg like that is listed in win98
beanster is offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 11:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

oh your running 98 i thought you where running XP make sure there isnt an IRQ conflict in device manager also make sure that the hardware is compatible with 98.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.