nic card replacement for HP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2006, 01:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 11
Default nic card replacement for HP

Does anyone know how to replace the NIC card for an HP NC 6000. I know you access it from the bottom of the notebook. But does it just unplug? I NEED HELP Thanks Scott
__________________

ja1919 is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 05:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 183
Default

Is it build into the latptop or a card? Cant you just replace it with a PCMCIA network card?
__________________

wasisnt is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 08:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 11
Default

I have no clue. I bought this computer off a friend who said the nic card was bad, and needs to be replaced..whats the difference between a nic card and a pcmcia network card. Does it still use this same mac address, or will i have to tell my isp my new mac address??
ja1919 is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 09:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

it looks like its on a motherboard. You would need to find one that is PCI.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 12:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 11
Default

PCI?????can some one explain this to me a bit more
ja1919 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.