newly built pc will not boot winxp pro cd!!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2006, 01:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Angry newly built pc will not boot winxp pro cd!!!!

hey guys. came across a very frustrating issue that im truly hoping someone can help me with. i built a machine for a buddy the other night & cannot get it to boot the winxp pro cd. verified that the boot sequence in the bios was indeed set to boot from CD/DVD first & still nothing. All i get is a flashing cursor against a solid black screen. below is a complete break-down of the hardware used.

INTEL D945GTP MAINBOARD
INTEL 3.00GHZ CPU
ATI RADEON X1600 VIDEO CARD
1GB KINGSTON MEMORY
(2) PLEXTOR 760A DVD BURNERS (1 SET AS MASTER, 1 SLAVE)
SEAGATE SATA HARD DRIVE
M-AUDIO AUDIOPHILE 192 SOUND CARD
LIAN LI ALUMINUM CASE
PC POWER & COOLING 510 WATT POWER SUPPLY

Also, i have tried booting with no add-on cards (video, sound) installed, using the built-in Intel graphics adaptor & still NOTHING!!!!

Please help guys.
Thanks so much.
Carmine.
__________________

noizemaker07 is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 02:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
sailpog's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 498
Default

are you sure all of the caables are in place an everything is firmly pushed into place.
__________________

__________________
<A HREF="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banner.asp?friend=43585">
<IMG SRC="http://www.mysearchfunds.com/banners/60x120.gif" BORDER="0">
</A>
sailpog is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 02:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Default

yes, double checked every cable to make sure they were all properly seated. i just cannot figure out what is causing this issue. it's driving me crazy!!!!
noizemaker07 is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 03:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 45
Default

Is it a genuine windows XP cd? Most new machines will not let you boot with a copied disc and require a licensed version in order to be able to boot.
If you still have problems then get the 6 floppy disk xp boot disc set that will take you up to the first blue install screen. It should read your CD fine then.
__________________
A drunk mans words are a sober mans thoughts.
The_likely_lad is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 05:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Default

yes it is a genuine store purchased copy of XP Pro. i will try you suggestion of using boot floppies, but what would cause a new bios to not boot from a cd? my other machine is a 2001 model & it boots from cd with no problem.

thanks for the help!
Carmine.
noizemaker07 is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 07:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The_likely_lad
Is it a genuine windows XP cd? Most new machines will not let you boot with a copied disc and require a licensed version in order to be able to boot.
If you still have problems then get the 6 floppy disk xp boot disc set that will take you up to the first blue install screen. It should read your CD fine then.
Not true....you can copy any XP CD on Nero. The Problem is activation. You need to find someone who will let you borrow a stick of memory. I'll bet you have a stick of bad RAM from Kingston!!!!!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 07:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Default

really? the bios is showing the full amount of ram. i will try that though.
thank you.
noizemaker07 is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 07:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

BTW...the BIOS always reflects the total memory address even if when the memory is bad. you can Run Memtest86 (free download) and test your memory from floppy if you don't have a replacement stick.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 08:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

ON the bios post screen does it show your drives properly?

This is for sure a problem with the cd/dvd rom drive. You tryed the cd in another computer and its fine? Then set the jumpers on the hdd to master and have it on the number 1 ide channel all by it's self. (you do know how to set the jumpers right) Then have the cd/dvd rom's jumpers set as the master also but on the second ide channel all by it's self. If you have it set like this and still nothing (but I bet that is the problem) then try another cd/dvd drive.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 07-02-2006, 12:16 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Default

Try using a straight cdrom - not burner - I find that 1/2 of the cd burners, and even more of the dvd burners fail when booting the XP Pro cd. I always keep an old cdrom handy, and use it. I have no idea why - it just happens to me a lot - and I load 10+ machines a week
__________________

Willy92 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.