New Video card Problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2006, 08:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 98
Unhappy New Video card Problems

K so today i picked up a Sapphire X1650Pro 256mb AGP to upgrade from my old X700 Pro
i installed the video card and now i notice that my system is not as fast anymore infact its more Laggy and its not over clocked right now and the ram timings are stock

i though it might be the drivers (came with 6.8 catalyst driver)
i updated to 6.10 and after restart the catalyst control center would not load up or open or load in the toolbar
i updated again to the newest ver 6.12 same problem and when i reinstalled all the stuff off the cd 6.8 catalyst it said sum "No Zone Display" or sumthing like that

but they installed anyways even with this odd error
but im noticing my pc is just laggy as **** and in sum games it seems laggyer then with my X700 and the X700 card was shot from overlcocking.

does anyone have any idea why my new video card would be slowing down my pc and how i can update the driver updates from ati to work?
and load up and all?
__________________

__________________
AMD 3700+ 64-Bit at 2.8ghz
Gigabyte K8 Triton Series nForce 4 SLI Motherboard
e-GeForce 8800GT 512mb
1GB DDR400 Hyper X
200+100+80GB HDD
19" Acer WideScreen LCD
AMD 3200+ 64 is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 08:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

uninstall all of your old drivers and all ati software, then put the card in, and install the stuff that came on the cd.
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 12-15-2006, 08:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 98
Default

hmmm thats the 1st thing i did when i got the card was remove all the old junk and pop the new card in
__________________
AMD 3700+ 64-Bit at 2.8ghz
Gigabyte K8 Triton Series nForce 4 SLI Motherboard
e-GeForce 8800GT 512mb
1GB DDR400 Hyper X
200+100+80GB HDD
19" Acer WideScreen LCD
AMD 3200+ 64 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.