New video card. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-08-2009, 02:41 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Skormm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 53
Default Re: New video card.

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
The edit buttons are not available after 24 hours, so if nobody checks the post before then, then you can bump your topic.

No I mean, what if they're waiting for a new reply before they go back to the thread, if it's just an edit then it won't alert them or display that there's been something added. (I understand this situation is a bad example considering I double posted within like 2 minutes of each other).
__________________

Skormm is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 02:45 AM   #12 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,509
Default Re: New video card.

Well there's over 50,000 other registered users here, so I'm sure that if the other guy doesn't reply before you bump the topic, then I'm sure one of them could possibly lend help as well . I don't make the rules mate, I just enforce them.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 02:46 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Skormm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 53
Default Re: New video card.

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Well there's over 50,000 other registered users here, so I'm sure that if the other guy doesn't reply before you bump the topic, then I'm sure one of them could possibly lend help as well . I don't make the rules mate, I just enforce them.
Oh I understand that you're just doing you job, don't get me wrong I'm not trying to argue or be a rebel or anything hehe... I was just asking =)

Edited for grammar.
Skormm is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 02:47 AM   #14 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,509
Default Re: New video card.

No worries.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 04:39 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Skormm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 53
Default Re: New video card.

I put my old video card back in and the computer is working fine, I'm pretty sure it's the PSU that's the problem, I am sending it back for a refund and getting a new one.
Skormm is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 05:18 PM   #16 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,509
Default Re: New video card.

Could pick up one of the Antec Earthwatts PSU's; they're fairly cheap, but very good. I know Ricanflow runs SLI'd 8800GT's on one.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 06:43 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Skormm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 53
Default Re: New video card.

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Could pick up one of the Antec Earthwatts PSU's; they're fairly cheap, but very good. I know Ricanflow runs SLI'd 8800GT's on one.

Ok so after installing my old PSU, I'm not so sure it was the problem anymore... here's the deal.


A) New PSU + New Card = Doesn't work.
B) New PSU + Old card = Works.
C) Old PSU + Old Card = Doesn't work.

Config C worked fine before I did config A, which leads me to believe that I have severely damaged something on my motherboard during the installation of config A.
Skormm is offline  
Old 07-10-2009, 11:50 AM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 89
Default Re: New video card.

If PSUs do pool the amperage, as carnage states they do and I have no reason to doubt him, then there is no reason why that PSU shouldn't power your new card. I would suggest exchanging it for a new one and seeing if that works. Other than that, it's about all the advice I can give you aside from testing out each component solely.

@ carnagex: Sorry about double posting as I usually just edit. Guess it was late and didn't realize what I was doing.
MundoDragon is offline  
Old 07-10-2009, 08:52 PM   #19 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Skormm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 53
Default Re: New video card.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MundoDragon View Post
If PSUs do pool the amperage, as carnage states they do and I have no reason to doubt him, then there is no reason why that PSU shouldn't power your new card. I would suggest exchanging it for a new one and seeing if that works. Other than that, it's about all the advice I can give you aside from testing out each component solely.

@ carnagex: Sorry about double posting as I usually just edit. Guess it was late and didn't realize what I was doing.
I've tested each of them solely, same problem every time, which is leading me back to my original thinking... that I fried my motherboard, or some ram, or the CPU or something... the computer is usually fine for a while, but if I try to play music, or watch a movie, it starts to mess up again... It's hard to explain what it's doing... It's like it chugs really badly, like trying to run a computer with not enough ram or something, the mouse lags and skips around. music and video stutter severely, and if I try typing at any speed slower than a snails pace, it doesn't even recognize that I hit half of the keys.

Example: thi whai lk wei tr to tye t noral spes.
(That said "this is what it looks like when i try to type at normal speeds.")
Skormm is offline  
Old 07-13-2009, 04:17 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 89
Default Re: New video card.

Sorry about the delay. Haven't been checked in for a few days. Anyhow, have you checked for virus's/spyware? That can cause sluggish computer behavior.
__________________

MundoDragon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help With New Video Card Hunter434 System Upgrades 11 09-21-2009 06:30 PM
Which video card to go with? Ksingler System Upgrades 4 03-20-2009 07:44 PM
Iphone video converter! chaosunknown Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 03-10-2009 08:32 AM
Microsoft Visual c++ error GG1972 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 02-13-2009 10:52 PM
Possible video card issue -- ATI X1650 houndofspace Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 12-04-2007 02:17 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.