New video card. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2009, 10:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Skormm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 53
Default New video card.

Ok so I installed my new video card and PSU today... I used the drivers on the disc, and then a little later I went to ATI's website (the card is an HD4850) to get the most recent drivers, I install them and all **** breaks loose. The sound kind of skips out occasionally (I think my old card had someone to do with the sound also?) and after a few minutes of the computer being turned on, it slows to a crawl, I reboot, it's fine for a few minutes, does it again. So I uninstall the display driver and just put the one from the disk on, now it's not... wow, as I was saying it's fine now, it started messing up again. Is it a bad card or did I mess something up when I installed it?

I think I shorted out my computer when I installed the card because I already had to by a new network adapter because the old one just died when I installed the new card.
__________________

Skormm is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 12:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 89
Default Re: New video card.

What brand/model of PSU did you install? It could be that it does not meet what are more-than-likely hefty requirements for that specific GPU. Read the specifications of the PSU very carefully, or post the PSU brand/model here so someone can verify that it meets the requirements for that GPU. The sound is not in any way tied to the GPU itself, however, if the GPU is 'hogging' all the available power supplied to your system, other components will suffer as a result, thus 'cutting out' your sound, etc.. Could also be that your network adapter didn't just 'die', there just wasn't enough power to initialize it. Inadequate power would be my first guess, and I will stand by that until it can be properly ruled out. Good luck.
__________________

MundoDragon is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 12:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Skormm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 53
Default Re: New video card.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MundoDragon View Post
What brand/model of PSU did you install? It could be that it does not meet what are more-than-likely hefty requirements for that specific GPU. Read the specifications of the PSU very carefully, or post the PSU brand/model here so someone can verify that it meets the requirements for that GPU. The sound is not in any way tied to the GPU itself, however, if the GPU is 'hogging' all the available power supplied to your system, other components will suffer as a result, thus 'cutting out' your sound, etc.. Could also be that your network adapter didn't just 'die', there just wasn't enough power to initialize it. Inadequate power would be my first guess, and I will stand by that until it can be properly ruled out. Good luck.

This PSU

Is above recommended wattage and amps are good too according to tom's hardware.
Skormm is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 01:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 89
Default Re: New video card.

Okay, let me do some research on that and I'll get back to you.
MundoDragon is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 01:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Skormm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 53
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MundoDragon View Post
Okay, let me do some research on that and I'll get back to you.
I just reseated the card and hooked up a different 6-pin to it and checked some other connections, so I'll sit for a few minutes and see if it goes into crawl mode again.

Well the sound is still skipping around every couple seconds. I'm sure the crawl is on its way.

EDIT: The crawl has arrived.
Skormm is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 01:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 89
Default

That is just the single core HD4850 and not the HD4850 X2, correct? Do you happen to know the amperage requirements for that card, as they don't seem to be listed anywhere on the manufacturers website?

I see for that PSU, although it has two 12 volt rails, it is only supplying 18A on one specific rail at a time, this could be a problem, although I am no expert on the subject, as I am not an electrician. I know my 9800GTX+ requires at least 24A on the 12 volt rail. I'm not sure exactly how the PSU's with more than one rail work (i.e. whether one device will only pull from one rail at a time, or if the two rails will 'pool' together( Hopefully someone more qualified in the electrical workings of a PSU will reply to clear up the PSU issue. I do know that that PSU meets the wattage requirements of the card, if it is, in fact, not an X2.

Also, have you overclocked at all, and if so, have you monitored your temps while doing so? maybe check the temps and make sure it not your system overheating, then we'll go from there.

EDIT: Also, have you tried rolling back to the drivers you had installed before the problem arose?
MundoDragon is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 02:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Skormm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 53
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MundoDragon View Post
I see for that PSU, although it has two 12 volt rails, it is only supplying 18A on one specific rail at a time, this could be a problem, although I am no expert on the subject, as I am not an electrician. I know my 9800GTX+ requires at least 24A on the 12 volt rail. I'm not sure exactly how the PSU's with more than one rail work (i.e. whether one device will only pull from one rail at a time, or if the two rails will 'pool' together( Hopefully someone more qualified in the electrical workings of a PSU will reply to clear up the PSU issue. I do know that that PSU meets the wattage requirements of the card, if it is, in fact, not an X2.

Also, have you overclocked at all, and if so, have you monitored your temps while doing so? maybe check the temps and make sure it not your system overheating, then we'll go from there.

EDIT: Also, have you tried rolling back to the drivers you had installed before the problem arose?
It started happening as soon as I installed the cars, same problem on 2 sets of drivers. The reviews I saw said that this card only requires 18A on the 12v rail. Bah.. shoulda gotten the Corsair I was looking at. Although I'm not completely sure it's the PSU to blame... I think I may have shorted out some things when I installed it, but if that was the case, would it even work ok for the first few minutes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MundoDragon View Post
I see for that PSU, although it has two 12 volt rails, it is only supplying 18A on one specific rail at a time, this could be a problem, although I am no expert on the subject, as I am not an electrician. I know my 9800GTX+ requires at least 24A on the 12 volt rail. I'm not sure exactly how the PSU's with more than one rail work (i.e. whether one device will only pull from one rail at a time, or if the two rails will 'pool' together( Hopefully someone more qualified in the electrical workings of a PSU will reply to clear up the PSU issue. I do know that that PSU meets the wattage requirements of the card, if it is, in fact, not an X2.

Also, have you overclocked at all, and if so, have you monitored your temps while doing so? maybe check the temps and make sure it not your system overheating, then we'll go from there.

EDIT: Also, have you tried rolling back to the drivers you had installed before the problem arose?
The card is only at about 40 degrees, and I've opened it up and felt the PSU, it's not hot at all, just warm (normal warm). No OC'ing.

EDIT 2: I think it may be the PSU, I just turned the clocks on the card down to minimum and the crawl lifted seconds later...

So, with this info, is it DEFINITELY the PSU? Or could it be the card has problems when you turn the clocks up?
Skormm is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 02:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: New video card.

Please do not double post you guys, use the edit buttons. Thank you.

And you add the amperage together on multi-rail PSU's. So on his, it has 2x18A 12v rails. So therefore his total amperage is 36A on that PSU on the 12v rails.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 07-08-2009, 02:38 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Skormm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 53
Default Re: New video card.

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Please do not double post you guys, use the edit buttons. Thank you.
But then nobody who's already been to the post knows that there's new info.
Skormm is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 02:40 AM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: New video card.

The edit buttons are not available after 24 hours, so if nobody checks the post before then, then you can bump your topic.

Besides, you made like 3 posts within around 6 minutes of each other...
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help With New Video Card Hunter434 System Upgrades 11 09-21-2009 06:30 PM
Which video card to go with? Ksingler System Upgrades 4 03-20-2009 07:44 PM
Iphone video converter! chaosunknown Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 03-10-2009 08:32 AM
Microsoft Visual c++ error GG1972 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 02-13-2009 10:52 PM
Possible video card issue -- ATI X1650 houndofspace Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 12-04-2007 02:17 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.