New Vid Card = Bluescreen blues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2010, 10:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 53
Default New Vid Card = Bluescreen blues

Greetings,

I've got an old system that has been running perfectly stable with an fx5200 (woo hoo!) for years. I finally ponied up to put a decent AGP video card in it so I could play games like Oblivion again. I bought a refurbished card from E-bay, and I think I got a dud, but it may not be the card.

Before installing the new x800pro I ran 3dmark01, 03, 05, and 06 on my fx5200 and it ran all four tests (didn't score too much, but it ran). With the new card, 3dmark03 bluescreens as soon as it loads the second graphics test. 3dmark01 bluescreens somewhere in the middle of the nature test each time. 3dmark05 and 06, however, run perfectly fine and give me a pretty nice score.

When it "bluescreens" there is no test on the screen, just a pure blue screen for 2-3 seconds and then the system reboots. Each time I get back into windows I get a "System has recovered from a serious error" message.

So, I'm at a loss. Also, I can play Morrowind for an hour with no problems. If I try to play Oblivion, though, it runs for 1 second to 1 minute before I get another bluescreen/reboot.

Here's what I've done:

-Tried different power connector and even unhooked extra hard drive, cd drive, fans, etc., from my PSU.

-Removed two PCI cards.

-uninstalled all drivers from ATI and Nvidia, re-installed ATI drivers only.

-tried older version of ATI drivers.

-run a memory test on the video card ram (it passed)

-Used ATI tool to stress out the GPU. The card gets up to 70C but it runs stable. I used this to log the GPU temp and when it is bluescreening it can be as low as 45C.

-I have not O/C'd the card, but tried underclocking it a bit, which didn't help.

-Disabled system reboot upon system error in WinXP. Now, I just get a blank blue screen that never disappears.

Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!


AMD Athlon XP 3000+
512MBx2 Mushkin DDR Dual-Channel RAM
Asus A7n8x-e Deluxe mobo
Sata 1.5m/b Seagate 300GB HDD
Dvd-rw drive
Antec True Power 480w PSU
__________________

Nevermore is offline  
Old 03-04-2010, 01:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 612
Default Re: New Vid Card = Bluescreen blues

My 2 guesses.

#1 You bought a dud card.

#2 Your PSU can't supply enough power to the X800pro, so when you try to run an intensive game or your GPU gets strained the PSU craps out and the system doesn't get enough power, forcing a reboot.

Got any other PSUs laying around?
Also have you tried swapping the old card back in and checking for the same sort of reboots?
__________________

__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro is offline  
Old 03-04-2010, 01:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: New Vid Card = Bluescreen blues

You can also try running driver sweeper in safe made after uninstallation of drivers in case of anything lingering from old installs.

Guru3D - Driver Sweeper
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 03-04-2010, 07:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 53
Default Re: New Vid Card = Bluescreen blues

I did try the old card, it works like a charm and gets through the same spot on 3dmark03 and 01 that crash the new card. I thought of the PSU idea and so I unhooked all pci devices and peripherals except one internal sata drive, and put the card on it's own power chain, but the bluescreen still occured at the EXACT same places.

Since I can re-create it so easily (3dmark03 - as SOON as the 2nd test tries to start), I would usually think it's a software/driver issue... except that the old card works fine and I've tried 3 different drivers for the new x800.... I will try driver sweeper, though.
Nevermore is offline  
Old 03-04-2010, 09:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 612
Default Re: New Vid Card = Bluescreen blues

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevermore View Post
I did try the old card, it works like a charm and gets through the same spot on 3dmark03 and 01 that crash the new card. I thought of the PSU idea and so I unhooked all pci devices and peripherals except one internal sata drive, and put the card on it's own power chain, but the bluescreen still occured at the EXACT same places.

Since I can re-create it so easily (3dmark03 - as SOON as the 2nd test tries to start), I would usually think it's a software/driver issue... except that the old card works fine and I've tried 3 different drivers for the new x800.... I will try driver sweeper, though.
ATI is known to have some odd driver issues, and lack of overall support.
(Still waiting for them to figure out the ati2dvag.dll error.)
My guess is that's exactly what your problem could be, (not the ati2dvag.dll error) but lack of support/driver issues.

If I were you, I'd look for third party drivers for it.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro is offline  
Old 03-05-2010, 07:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 53
Default Re: New Vid Card = Bluescreen blues

I've now used Driver Sweeper to completely and utterly remove all nvidia and ati driver components, re-installed ATI. Still no luck. I've played with the BIOS settings for AGP Spread Spectrum, Aperture, AGP Fast Write, etc., and it helped slightly. Anyone have suggestions on what these should be set to, or suggestions on 3rd party drivers?
__________________

Nevermore is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do i need a new power supply for a new vid card? 450w Optional New Systems | Building and Buying 17 12-29-2008 07:09 PM
vid card or memory caused boot.ini error? ohGrFreak Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 11-03-2008 12:25 PM
Returns to Newegg (vid card) asudmr System Upgrades 7 05-22-2008 08:37 PM
Locking up after vid card install J9Darkwing Overclocking and Modding 21 01-31-2008 12:28 AM
Need psu and low end vid card for build Shafra System Upgrades 7 10-15-2007 12:16 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.