New SATA drive problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-07-2009, 11:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 21
Default New SATA drive problems

Just got my first WD Black 1TB SATA. Trying to install on a Intel 915pgn MB, but I think I might've messed something up. I installed the hardware, put in the WD cd that came with it, and turned on the pc. It said insert bootable disk, and I couldn't get it to boot from the cd, so i put in my xp cd.

That worked, and it went to the partition and install screen. I hit enter to format and install xp on the selected partition, but I got an error screen at the end, and it didn't install. So I tried again and just got the black screen with the blinking cursor.

Then I put my old IDE drive back in with the SATA also hooked up, and booted up xp. When I went to my computer the sata drive showed up as E:

I clicked on it to see what it would do and it asked if i wanted to format it. So I clicked yes. There was another error (don't remember what it was), so I rebooted and when xp started up the sata drive didn't show up anymore.

After all that I realized I was supposed to to run the utilities from the cd first, and format and setup the drive that way. Now when I try and do that the WD software says there might be a DDO I need to remove in DOS, and I can't go any farther.

I don't know how to remove the DDO in DOS, and I can't seem to get anywhere else with it. I've tried multiple boot sequences, etc. All to no avail. If anyone can help I would really appreciate it.
__________________

jfwalls is offline  
Old 02-07-2009, 11:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: New SATA drive problems

Have you tried to format the drive using diskmanager under administrator tools in the control panel?
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-08-2009, 12:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 21
Default Re: New SATA drive problems

It doesn't do what I need it to. I still can't get it to install windows. I think I need to remove the DDO on it. It's the only thing I haven't tried yet.
jfwalls is offline  
Old 02-08-2009, 12:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: New SATA drive problems

It is possible that you need to load the SATA controller drivers for your sata controller during the windows install, some times xp doesnt have the older drivers... I would chekc that first.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-08-2009, 01:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 21
Default Re: New SATA drive problems

Hmm...how would i go about loading the sata controllers during the xp install.

Also, with the xp disk in I got it to start the windows install, and it recognized the sata drive. But it's showing the available disk space as only around 130 gigs.

Here's the message I get when I try to run the data lifeguard utilities to set up the drive.

"the drive that is currently selected for setup is not being translated correctly by your system. the drive may contain a DDO that the operating system does not work with properly. to correctly setup this drive you must first run data lifeguard for dos and remove the ddo from the drive"
jfwalls is offline  
Old 02-08-2009, 01:33 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: New SATA drive problems

Been quite sometime since I saw a drive limited like that, I know it deals with the XP disk not having one of the newer service packs, I think it is 1b, or 2... If you can, try to slipstream SP2 onto a disk with xp, then it shouldn't give you anymore issues... Or wait till another member can give you more information...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-08-2009, 01:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: New SATA drive problems

Yeah he must be installing xp with sp1 or less.
137gb barrier
part 3 gives instructions on slipstreaming sp2 into an install disk.

What motherboard do you have so we can look for the sata drivers for you?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-08-2009, 01:49 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 21
Default

Well, I have the newest service pack. I missed the formatting option under windows computer management. I had just partitioned it, and didn't realize I could right click after that to format it.

Anyways, I'm formatting it to NTFS now. Hopefully I can install windows on it after that.

Oh wait. I see what you mean. You're right, the windows doesn't have sp2. Alright, I'll check out the slipstreaming.

I have an intel d915pgn
jfwalls is offline  
Old 02-08-2009, 02:04 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: New SATA drive problems

Do not see any sata install drivers for your board.
Download Search Results!

They must do ide emulation which is fine.

Are you just moving to new harddrive? You could try using Clonezilla to image your drive to the new one and save the installation process. Unless you want to have a clean install which is fine.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-08-2009, 02:17 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 21
Default Re: New SATA drive problems

Well, I was hoping for a clean install, but my main reason for this drive is the extra room. If I format it NTFS (only at 35% right now) will the drive be usable for storage? Would I be able to install software to it?

I'll use the Clonezilla if I can't I suppose.
__________________

jfwalls is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!! My hard drive will not boot! ehc68 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 01-29-2009 04:33 PM
SATA issues... CalcProgrammer1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 12-30-2008 04:05 PM
Partion Problems on hard drive whitedove Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 12-01-2008 02:53 PM
Hard Drive problems galore.. SystmDcln Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-24-2008 11:54 PM
SATA DVD drive disappears after reboot nutmilk Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 05-31-2007 02:30 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.