New SATA drive not detected, any ideas? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2006, 12:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default New SATA drive not detected, any ideas?

Hello all, installing a 250GB Maxtor drive into a Asus P4S86 motherboard. This is the only hard disk in the system, and I have tested the hard disk on my own PC and it worked fine, this if for a friend. The drive is not being detected at all. I absolutely have no idea what to do. Even the MaxBlast software that came with the drive does not detect the drive. I went to the ASUS website and I don't see any type of SATA drivers listed and I'm completed confused. Can anyone take some time and help troubleshoot this with me?

Thanks to anyone willing to help.
__________________

__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 01:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

I forgot to add I'm doing a complete new install of XP pro and have the disk slipstreamed with SP2. I don't understand why this is not being detected. I see no options in the BIOS pertaining to SATA like I have in other systems but it has a primary and secondary SATA controller on the board.
__________________

__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 01:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

an XP SP2 disk should automatically detect SATA drives, but you could try installing your own SATA drivers.
when the XP disk is loading, press F6 where it says "press F6 to install a third party SCSI or RAID driver"
then find your motherboard's CD, and install the SATA drivers off that.

then it should hopefully work
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 01:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

Is it possible that a MOBO would contain SATA hookups but the BIOS be so old it didn't support it? I guess if they put them on the board it should be supported, but I see nothing in the BIOS pertaining to SATA at all which is throwing me off.

It's a friends PC, so I'll have to try to download some drivers to a floppy. He doesn't have his MOBO CD. Of course.....
__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 01:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

they wouldn't put SATA ports on a board unless the BIOS did support them. what is holding you back at the moment is the software's ability to use them
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 01:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

I'm guessing I'm missing something in setting up the BIOS. I don't see any clear directions on the ASUS site for this unless I'm missing it.

I see an option for "onboard ATA device" which is disabled. I enable it and nothing changes.

Under boot devices I see an option for "other boot device" which allows me to select SCSI/onboard ATA boot. I enable that, nothing.

I also see options for "onboard 1394" devices. I didn't know if SATA fell into that category, I enable that, as well as the two above, and nothing. I'm missing something in this BIOS....
__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 01:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

maybe check that SATA is enabled in BIOS
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 02:01 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

That's the thing, I don't see anything in any of the BIOS that says anything about SATA. I downloaded the manual but it isn't of any help here at all. The SATA ports are disabled, I'm confident that's why it's not being detected. Man, I'm not a tech but somehow I'm the only one in my family that knows anything about computers and I always end up doing this stuff. LOL

In the BIOS on my machine there's a simple option to turn on SATA onboard support. I can't figure this out on my friends machine...
__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 02:02 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

His BIOS is ancient, but I had a bad flash once and I get the shakes just thinking about doing another one...
__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 02-21-2006, 02:04 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

it might be under "integrated peripherals" or something
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.