New RAM upgrade acting up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-24-2009, 03:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Unhappy New RAM upgrade acting up

Hi there,

Im new to this forum and a newbie to tackling computer issues. I tried to upgrade my desktop with more RAM but I obviously ran into issue and thats why im here .

The first thing I did was that I used this program call SIW to find out what RAM I needed. I had 2 slots both with 256Mb in it originally. So I bought a 1Gb stick and tried to get it to work but it was doing a bunch funny things. At times my comp would not start so I tried to take the stick out and put it back in switching the sticks beween the two slots and in all possible combinations.....including using only the 1 Gb stick. When I got it to work, the computer decided to crash a few hours later with a constant and failed attempt to restart its self.

Other simptoms included:
-a much noisier CPU, could it be getting too hot or something?
- blue screen with msg: DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL
-At another time I also got a msg in windows: error signature BCCode 1000008e BCP1:C000005................can type all that out if need.

I guess my question is how do I tell if the issue is with the memory stick? Below are the details about my motherboard and the type of ram I had and the one bought:

Motherboard: SiS-650, manufacturer Seanix
Original/existing RAM: SpecTek, 256Mb DDR PC2100
New RAM: Samsung, 1Gb DDR PC2100 266Mhz low density.
Im running XP home if that makes a diff.

Since I did not want my comp to ramdomly shutdown, I am back to using the old RAM that I originally had untill I can get some help. I noticed however that the time the computer hangs in the black screen before windows loads up is a lot longer that what it used to be (on the screen it reads detecting IDE drivers.....).

Anyway, thanks in advance for the help and I hope I was not all over the place with my thoughts :freak:
__________________

shaf3y is offline  
Old 02-24-2009, 03:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: New RAM upgrade acting up

Rum MemTest 86+ on the RAM. Takes several hours.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 02-24-2009, 06:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: New RAM upgrade acting up

As above said, just make sure you have a blank CD ready, and boot from the CD drive. Let it get around 4 or 5 passes before quitting if it doesn't show error in the first few, just to make sure.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM Upgrade mcarlg System Upgrades 9 12-07-2008 03:16 PM
trying to upgrade old system zeldaboy101 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 11-09-2008 01:39 AM
Problem Posting After Ram Upgrade skylinegtrv98 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 10-28-2008 02:53 PM
Ram upgrade worth it in this machine? stainer711 System Upgrades 5 04-25-2008 01:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.