New Ram not recognized, help... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-19-2009, 02:11 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Franklin Square, NY
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to PUNISSHER
Default Re: New Ram not recognized, help...

Ahhh gotcha! So beisdes my computer suckin butt, lol, I can only go as high as two 512mb sticks at a speed no greater than DDR266. Ok so I'm gonna throw the original 256mb sticks back in and go back to Microcenter for the 3rd time, lol, and see if I can get the correct ones. Thank you for help, I really appreciate it. I'll post back once I get the new sticks installed. Thanks again.
__________________

PUNISSHER is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 02:14 AM   #12 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: New Ram not recognized, help...

Sure no problem. Also one more note that's vital. Make sure the 512MB sticks you get are double sided NOT single sided. That board has only been officially tested to support double sided. You can tell by just looking at the memory. Single only have black rectangles of memory on one side . Good luck!
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 02:15 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Franklin Square, NY
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to PUNISSHER
Default Re: New Ram not recognized, help...

Okay, thanks!
PUNISSHER is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 11:30 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Franklin Square, NY
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to PUNISSHER
Default Re: New Ram not recognized, help...

Well I went and picked up two Kingston 512mb DDR266 cards and it works! 1GB running with no issues. Thanks again for all the help, Baez.
PUNISSHER is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 12:08 PM   #15 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: New Ram not recognized, help...

Not a problem . Glad you got everything running!
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
32-bit WinXP question, regarding RAM White_Wolf Microsoft Windows and Software 1 12-21-2008 03:19 PM
Monitor went dark Noelectro Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 20 09-08-2008 06:54 PM
Problem with RAM / CPU. zukster Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 08-11-2008 09:43 PM
Upgrading RAM for Dell E-1705 to 2GB Mach1threat Laptops and Notebooks 3 06-09-2008 05:45 PM
Ram Problems DandRuff Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 06-07-2008 09:14 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.