New Ram not recognized, help... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-19-2009, 12:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Franklin Square, NY
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to PUNISSHER
Default New Ram not recognized, help...

Hey Ladies and Gents,

I have a VPR Matrix 180r PC that has two 256mb memory sticks. I was upgrading my wife's laptop and figured why not upgrade the PC. So I picked up two 1GB sticks. Threw em in last night and the PC is only showing 384mb of ram. So I upgrade from 512mb to 2GB and I end up with only 384mb?? What's up with that?? Any help will be tremendously appreciated. Thank you!
__________________

PUNISSHER is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 01:03 AM   #2 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: New Ram not recognized, help...

What are the system specs?

CPU, Motherboard, RAM, Video Card. Brand and Model.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 01:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Franklin Square, NY
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to PUNISSHER
Default Re: New Ram not recognized, help...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baez View Post
What are the system specs?

CPU, Motherboard, RAM, Video Card. Brand and Model.
CPU = Intel Pentium 4 1.80GHz

Motherboard = Intel D845EBT AAA92334-304

RAM = was 2 x 256mb =512mb, with the two new sticks it's now 384mb.

Video Card = Radeon 9200 Pro Family
PUNISSHER is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 01:57 AM   #4 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: New Ram not recognized, help...

And what is the speed of the new RAM you bought?
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 01:58 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Franklin Square, NY
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to PUNISSHER
Default Re: New Ram not recognized, help...

Two 1GB sticks, so ideally it should be 2GB.
PUNISSHER is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 02:00 AM   #6 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: New Ram not recognized, help...

No by speed I mean DDR200, DDR266, DDR400 etc.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 02:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Franklin Square, NY
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to PUNISSHER
Default Re: New Ram not recognized, help...

Woops... DDR 400/333
PUNISSHER is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 02:02 AM   #8 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: New Ram not recognized, help...

Okay. One last question. Is your video card standalone or integrated. Meaning is it part of the motherboard or a card plugged into the motherboard?
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 02:03 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Franklin Square, NY
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to PUNISSHER
Default Re: New Ram not recognized, help...

It's plugged in.
PUNISSHER is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 02:07 AM   #10 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: New Ram not recognized, help...

Alright. Take a look at this page: Intelģ Desktop Board D845EBT - Tested memory

It looks confusing but I'll explain what's happening. Your motherboard only supports single sticks of up to 512MB double-sided memory. It also only supports speeds of up to DDR266.

Therefore it's taking what it can from the memory. You're lucky the computer runs at all. It's grabbing 256 from the first stick and 128 from the second. When motherboards using DDR (not DDR2) can't handle the speed of the RAM it reduces it's memory size to compensate, giving you only 128MB on the second stick.

Just ask if any of that confuses you.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
32-bit WinXP question, regarding RAM White_Wolf Microsoft Windows and Software 1 12-21-2008 03:19 PM
Monitor went dark Noelectro Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 20 09-08-2008 06:54 PM
Problem with RAM / CPU. zukster Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 08-11-2008 09:43 PM
Upgrading RAM for Dell E-1705 to 2GB Mach1threat Laptops and Notebooks 3 06-09-2008 05:45 PM
Ram Problems DandRuff Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 06-07-2008 09:14 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.