New RAM and MoBo - BSoD problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2012, 08:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default New RAM and MoBo - BSoD problems

I've upgraded my system a few times in the last 2 months. The three main things are the 180Gb OCZ SSD, My MoBo and DDR3 memory. My Board supports up to 32GB @ 1866Mhz or 2033 OC. My CPU supports up to 1600mhz which is what my memory is currently set at. More specs in my sig. I was pretty careful to make sure things were compatible, but you never know, I may have overlooked something.

Anyway, every few days I get one of two BSD's. First one is PFN_LIST_CORRUPT 0X000004E, The second is SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION 0xc0000005. My video drivers were acting buggy so I tried a fresh install of the drivers, that didn't work so I reformatted again since I had just done one to install my MoBo. I'm still having the issues. I believe all my settings are correct in BIOS. My new board has UEFI BIOS, I'm not 100% familiar with it, but I was able to figure out the basics. CPU-Z shows everything as normal and so does crystal disc.

Event viewer called the most recent error Event 41, Kernel-Power (not sure what that means). I'm going to run memtest here in a bit, I'll chime back in with the results. Maybe in the mean time someone can help with ideas. Thanks.

Update: My RAM is fine. Memtest passed 100%
__________________

__________________
pro2a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 11:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: New RAM and MoBo - BSoD problems

You didn't run it long enough. It takes it a loooong time to find any errors with your 16GB. Let it run overnight. Or just run a check on each stick separately. At least 2 passes.

Those all look like RAM BSOD's.

BTW, you took out your 1337 sig?
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 12:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Re: New RAM and MoBo - BSoD problems

Ya. Gotta make me a new one
__________________
pro2a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 07:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Re: New RAM and MoBo - BSoD problems

So far 2 sticks are good. My PC is acting really buggy... I'm trying to chase after one issue, which runs me into another and into another... next thing I know I'm fixing something and forgot the original problem. I'm trying to get rid of my GPU drivers, I've noticed that as a common issue. I'm hoping that is it. I really don't want to format again. I'm tired of doing that every time there is a problem.

Here is a list of all the BSD's i've been getting... so far about 5 tonight.

PFN_LIST_CORRUPT
IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL
BAD_POOL_CALLER
MULTIPLE_IRP_COMPLETE_REQUESTS
SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION

Getting aggravated here...
[ATTACH=CONFIG]5327[/ATTACH]
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Angry-man_on_computer.jpg (19.5 KB, 80 views)
__________________
pro2a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 10:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: New RAM and MoBo - BSoD problems

I would rather prefer this, but yeah..



Those BSOD are pouinting to your memory, so I don't know what else to say..
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 10:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Re: New RAM and MoBo - BSoD problems

I just ran Memtest on it again... Nothing.

I'm gonna run 8GB at a time and see if I can recreate the BSD. Which ever 2 does it first is going for a trip back to New Jersey.
__________________
pro2a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 11:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: New RAM and MoBo - BSoD problems

Did you test them in different slots? Could be just a slot is bad.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 11:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Re: New RAM and MoBo - BSoD problems

*Sigh* I need an easy button. I've already wasted 4 hours of my life pulling my hair out. I'll mess with it tomorrow. As of now, 8GB seems to be stable. I have not been able to recreate a BSD. I'm going to leave well enough alone for now.
__________________
pro2a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 02:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Re: New RAM and MoBo - BSoD problems

RAM is fine. I've run 3 passes over each stick, in different slots. I'm beginning to wonder if my settings in BIOS are off. I had this problem once before and my timings and voltage were off. Once I got them right, everything was peaches and cream. I got a screenshot of CPU-Z SPD with all the timings and such, I'm gonna go screw around in BIOS and come back with an update.

Edit: I've ruled out my memory and motherboard being bad. I reset CMOS and started fresh in BIOS. I looked up timings for my RAM and discovered on the G.Skill forum, apparently there was an issue with the memory controller in AMD processors when more then one channel is filled. Basically I have to throttle back my RAM frequency and timings, which I did. Hopefully this works. Next step, buy an FX AMD processor so I can utilize my RAMS full potential.

*Crossing my fingers*

Edit 2: I've been running stress tests and multiple apps since 3 and I've not gotten one BSD yet. I'm thinking I fixed it
__________________

__________________
pro2a is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a mobo that will give 0 problems with 24GB RAM pref at 1600Mhz mikel833 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 03-12-2011 02:33 PM
Possibly dead mobo? BSOD's jeff1000 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 01-20-2011 01:28 PM
BSOD problems yet again. IBM/PS1 Microsoft Windows and Software 36 08-25-2008 07:54 PM
xp bsod problems afplayboy18 Microsoft Windows and Software 20 08-18-2006 12:40 AM
bsod problems b1ng Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 11-22-2004 03:32 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.