New Problem!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2006, 12:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to speedster0011
Default New Problem!!

Well i just changed my motherboard & psu cuz they were fried & now. Here is the problem. I was using a 550w power supply before so it go tfried. I had a spare 450w and i put that in and this is what happens. I turn the computer on, it says buidling ide drivers, p4 logo comes and then boom it shuts off by itself.
__________________

speedster0011 is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 12:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

what are the specs of your system. everything. nothing shorting out the bottom of the mb? got all of the power plugs to the mb? have you stripped it down to the bare essentials? just run mb, proc, ram and vid card to see if you can get into bios.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 12:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to speedster0011
Default

ok, here is whats going on. i just rechecked everything it seems that the psu cable that connects to the motherboard has 20 pins, but the motherboard has 24 pins. So when its connected there are 4 pins open. could this be a problem? should i buy a 450w again or 550w?
speedster0011 is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 12:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

they sell adapters but they are not reccomended. get a new psu with a 24pin plug. you can go with a 450 or 550 depending upon what you are running. I always error on the larger side to be safe.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 12:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to speedster0011
Default

im running

asus motherboard w/ on board ati graphics
1024 mb
p4 3.2 HT
80gb western digital

so is this whats causing the comp to turn off?
speedster0011 is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 01:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

Yeah the 20-pin PSU is the problem obviously. They do sell adapters that convert 20-pin to 24-pin. You can find em pretty much everywhere.
septoid2 is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 02:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

http://froogle.google.com/froogle?hl...ne&scoring=mrd
__________________

Vybuni is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.