New problem - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2009, 10:06 PM   #21 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: New problem

You will need to do a repair install. There is something wrong with your current install.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-01-2009, 12:22 AM   #22 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 27
Default Re: New problem

Ok i got passed those boot issues. There is something fishy about my ram and was wondering if you could clear it up.

Ok so i currently have 1gb ddr2 pc4200 ram in my computer 2x512

I want to upgrade to 2gb 2x1

I got my first set of ram plugged it in, it ran fine for a couple hours then my comp would just restart as soon as it hit the windows xp loading page.

And a short while ago i exchanged it for a different set, and i couldnt even get the computer to boot on with that set.

Any ideas?

I know that each of the ram that i have used/am using is the same specs.



EDIT: Ya you are right, i do need to repair because im having the same restarting problems with my old ram. but the ram question still needs an answer please.



EDIT2: Ran the repair to no avail. Now im just gonna format and see what happens.
__________________

bigdaddy44 is offline  
Old 03-01-2009, 11:17 PM   #23 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: New problem

Are you sure that the mobo can handle the RAM? It doesnt do you any good swapping RAM around if you dont know if the mother board is even capable of running it.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-02-2009, 09:20 PM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 27
Default Re: New problem

Ya i know the motherboard is capable of that. But i had a temp problem so i stripped down the computer took off the fan and heatsink and re applied the thermal compound. Put everything back together just as i took it apart. Now it just starts up with no screen, and when i try to shut it off via holding the power button, it doesnt turn off. And i know from previous experiences that that happens when the mobo is fried or bad. Any suggestions? Is it the mobo?
__________________

bigdaddy44 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem installing software in windows xp pro imagesmith Microsoft Windows and Software 3 02-20-2008 02:46 PM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
Wireless Problem! dropper Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 07-08-2007 04:58 PM
Dhcp leasing problem Kloppstock Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 12 05-13-2007 07:13 PM
cant find the problem... Jhill1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 05-07-2007 04:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.